In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings

About this book..

A perfect life … until she discovered it wasn’t her own

A tragic family event reveals devastating news that rips apart Bella’s comfortable existence. Embarking on a personal journey to uncover the truth, she faces a series of traumatic discoveries that take her to the ruggedly beautiful Cornish coast, where hidden truths, past betrayals and a 25-year-old mystery threaten not just her identity, but also her life. Chilling, complex and profoundly moving, In Her Wake is a gripping psychological thriller that questions the nature of family – and reminds us that sometimes the most shocking crimes are committed closest to home.

My review..

Once in a while a book comes along that leaves you breathless, lost for words and with a worry that whatever review you write it just won’t communicate the pure emotion of how each and every sentence made you feel! This book was the “perfect storm” of books where everything just came together perfectly in one place and at the right time. I’ve never felt more like giving a book 10 stars!!

The book begins with Bella and her husband David returning home for her mother Elaines funeral. It’s a very quiet affair as the Campbell’s were estranged from most of their family and they had few friends. Henry Campbell seems lost without his wife and detached from his daughter, telling her that he needs to speak to her about something important. But after another tragedy affects the family Bella discovers that the life she was living was based on a lie and she sets off on a journey of self discovery.

I didn’t know much about the plot before I started and I’m glad I came to it with an open mind. I just knew that every review I had read recommended it and I had to read it. I am so glad I did as this book was just so beautifully written and it came with such a cast of wonderful characters that it shone from page to page. The way it was told in short chapters meant that it was so easy to read “just one more chapter” until towards the end when I slowed right down as I just didn’t feel ready to let go. The female characters were so intricately detailed and I just felt such emotion and affection for them all, even Elaine whom I felt a real connection to. As a mother my heart broke for her and also for Alice, there were no winners in this tale of loss. The way the Cornish setting was brought to life it practically became a character in its own right! I love St Ives and could practically smell the sea and tastes the salt in the air whilst reading!

I lived through Bella’s journey with her and adored every single second and shared every emotion. This is a book I will cherish, recommend and read again. I loved it.

I won my copy of In Her Wake in a blog competition and am so very grateful to Dave at espressococo.WordPress.com for my prize.

Available to buy now

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

8 thoughts on “In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings”

Leave a Reply

