If the Dress Fits by Daisy James

Today 14th July is the day that If The Dress Fits by Daisy James comes out in paperback! Just in time to pack for your summer holidays so check out my review below.

About this book… 

The only romance novel you need this summer, perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Caroline Roberts and Debbie Johnson!

She might be the most famous person in the country, but no one even knows her name…

Callie’s exquisite, glittering silk gown has been shortlisted for the celebrity wedding of the year. But just as all her dreams are coming true, disaster strikes!

Leaving behind the bright lights of London, Callie is forced to return home to sleepy Althorpe. And there’s one man she hopes to avoid – the childhood sweetheart who turned her life upside down. But now she’s back, is it finally time to stop running?

Yet, as Callie faces her past, a Cinderella-like hunt begins for that perfect, pearl-embroidered dress, mysteriously submitted without a name…

My review…

What an absolutely adorable book this was! I just loved it from the first moment I saw that gorgeously simplistic cover until I read the final beautifully hopeful last line. If you want a feelgood romance full of colourful and likeable characters then this book is a must buy. I feel all soft and fluffy and sweet now I’ve finished it, rather like one of Tom’s delectable cupcakes!

The plot for this was based around Callie who is a well respected wedding dress designer. She has made the shortlist to design a dress for Yorkshires wedding of the year but after tragedy strikes, the dress is left unlabelled and so the hunt is on “Cinderella style” to find the lucky anonymous winner.

The wedding dress design and the wedding of the year is only a small.part of this lovely story. Callie is still longing for her first love Theo, now a famous rock star and a trip away from London back to her home town brings them together again. But for me the love affair was with the village of Allthorpe and the fascinating local people we meet there. I LOVED Gingerberry Yarns and the Cupcakes and Couture crew. I found it very touching in a personal way as well. I also like in a small village where the High Street has changed so much due to the out of town shopping experiences that have put so many small local shops out of business. So I  was cheering out loud for all the talented local craftspeople and traders to triumph.

The first thing I did when I finished this book was to pre-order When only Cupcakes Will Do by Daisy James that is due out next month as I just love her style of writing, it makes me smile….A LOT!

Thank you to Carina UK for providing my advanced copy in return for an unbiased review. 

If The Dress Fits: A heartwarming romantic comedy guaranteed to sweep you off your feet!is available to buy now at Amazon UK

When Only Cupcakes Will Do is out on 4th August in e-book and is available to pre-order on Amazon UK

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “If the Dress Fits by Daisy James”

Comments are closed.