Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington

About this book…

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go.

My review…

I love discovering new authors especially when I get that lovely tingly feeling reading the first few pages of a book and I think to myself “this one is going to be a good one!” There has been a bit of a buzz about Saving Sophie on the social media platforms recently and sometimes that can be a bit of a let down when you actually come to read the book itself but in this case, not only did I really enjoy it, I am now desperate to read her next book based on the blurb at the back of Saving Sophie!

I could tell from the start that Sam Carrington MUST have some experience of teenage girls as this first chapter is every mother’s worst nightmare. When Sophie is brought home by the police after having been found wandering the town the worse for wear, it’s obvious that something is very wrong. She seems more than drunk, she isn’t making sense and where is her friend? The complex mother/teenage daughter relationship is brilliantly brought to life here (I should know! Enough said!) and it raises the tension levels right from the start especially as there is also a discrepancy in the parenting styles between Karen and her husband Mike.

Told from three viewpoints (Karen, Sophie and DI Lindsay Wade) this psychological suspense really does contain some unexpected surprises. The second half of the book racked up the tension for me personally and I found it impossible to put down until I had finished. It’s creepy feel really did make my skin crawl at times especially reading the emails that were occasionally interspersed that also seemed to also have something to do with Sophie and the night her friend disappears. This book is very much of our time especially with its use of social media and technology and how it seems to affect the lives of teenagers nowadays.

There is so much that could be discussed about this book making it ideal for a book club debate. Karen’s agoraphobia for instance and how it’s affecting her relationships not only with her own family but with her friends too. It certainly made for uncomfortable reading when she was forced to put Sophies safety above her own debilitating condition.

Although we are given an in-depth look into the thoughts and consequent actions of Karen and Sophie through their alternating chapters, I didn’t feel I got to know DI Wade as well and would loved to have had more of an insight into what made her tick and act the way she did. Maybe I am just too used to the Detective being the one with “the story” though as she did make an interesting contrast to the complexity of Karen and Sophie. Hopefully though, when we meet her again this will be resolved as I think there is a fascinating character there waiting to be revealed.

Saving Sophie did what many books struggle to do nowadays…it surprised me! I really liked Sam Carringtons writing style and I will definitely be looking out for her next book.

Saving Sophie: A gripping psychological thriller with a brilliant twist is published on 12th August in e-book and is available to buy from Amazon UK.

About the author…

Sam Carrington lives in Devon with her husband and three children. She worked for the NHS for 15 years, during which time she qualified as a nurse. Following the completion of a Psychology degree she went to work for the prison service as an Offending Behaviour Programme Facilitator. Her experiences within this field inspired her writing. She left the service to spend time with her family and to follow her dream of being a novelist. SAVING SOPHIE is her debut psychological thriller novel.

 

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

5 thoughts on “Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington”

  1. I am glad that I have discovered a couple of books on agoraphobia this summer. Now, to see if the subject is well-handled is another story, but I feel like the condition fits well with the storyline in this book and should add a different edge. I’m definitely getting this one soon! Great review, thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean when you say ‘that tingly feeling’ when you read the first few pages. I love that! This sounds like a great thriller book the kind where you have to keep reading.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.