Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson

About this book…

THE FIRST THRILLER FEATURING JOURNALIST SOPHIE KENT.

For fans of Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane, this compelling thriller uncovers the dark side of high fashion.

London Fashion Week. When a teenage model is found brutally murdered, journalist Sophie Kent is distraught. She failed to save the girl and now she wants justice.

Determined to catch the murderer, Sophie cuts through the industry’s glittery surface to expose a toxic underworld of drugs, prostitution, blackmail and secrets. Then her personal life threatens to derail everything.

Battling her demons and her wealthy dysfunctional family, Sophie goes head to head with a sadistic killer – a killer who is only just getting started . . .

My review…

So Kindle is now charged (honestly who doesn’t take their Kindle charger to bed with them?!) and I’m now able to bring you my full review of Breaking Dead which, you may have seen earlier, I thought was absolutely brilliant! I have to firstly thank Mairead,who blogs at Swirl and Thread for pointing me in the direction of this book as I had previously thought it possibly wasn’t for me but how wrong was I? I don’t know what I was expecting but it certainly wasn’t this strongly plotted, brilliantly character driven crime thriller with a difference. The difference being that Sophie Kent, who takes a personal interest in a horrific murder investigation, is not a police officer but a journalist. And a journalist with a difference who will do whatever it takes to get her story but does it while maintaining the trust of all she connects with. She isn’t perfect, far from it, as she is dealing with a personal loss that is constantly with her and she has the most messed up love life I’ve come across recently!

This is a very hard hitting book, quite graphic in places and has some quite upsetting scenes at times. The setting of the modelling world isn’t the glamourous world we see in the fashion magazines but a very dark and disturbing behind-the-scenes look at a world where very young women are thrown in at the sleazy end where money, sex and drugs rule. And heaven forbid they eat! When Sophie meets Natalia while investigating a murder on the estate she lives on, she realises straight away that she is hiding something from her. The more she digs, the more terrified the young Russian model gets. Then a series of murders lead Sophie to follow the trail of a sadistic and cunning killer but is she putting others at risk with her diligent detection or even herself?

For me what made this book rise head and shoulders above others was Sophie herself. I just loved her attitude and her honesty which combined to make her one of the most endearing heroines I have ever met. She was flawed and impulsive but she never gave up in her request for the truth. That doesn’t mean that she always played by the rules and the line between her personal and private life was constantly crossed but this is, essentially, a journalist with a heart. I just loved her and now I can’t wait to meet her again as the ending of Breaking Dead leads me to believe that we may not have heard the last of the London Heralds rogue reporter! And if the plot is going to be the one I’m expecting then I just can’t wait!!

Corrie Jackson has done a whole heap of in-depth investigating herself here and this storyline is packed full of interesting and detailed descriptions to show that she’s researched the hell out of this! Having read her bio, I can see that she’s probably used a lot of her background in fashion journalism to create an intensely competitive fictional environment for Sophie to prowl around and it has worked perfectly.

A well deserved 5 star review for this debut novel and highly recommended by me.

I received a copy of this book via netgalley in return for an unbiased review.

Breaking Dead: A Dark, Gripping, Edge-of-Your-Seat Debut Thriller (The Sophie Kent series) is available to buy now from Amazon UK

About the author…

Corrie Jackson has been a journalist for fourteen years. During that time she has worked at Harper’s Bazaar, the Daily Mail, Grazia and Glamour. After a two-year stint in Los Angeles, Corrie now lives in Surrey, England, with her husband and two children.Breaking Dead is her first novel.

 

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “Breaking Dead by Corrie Jackson”

Comments are closed.