The Taken by Casey Kelleher #BlogTour #BookReview @bookouture @CaseyKelleher

So today I am on the blog tour for The Taken which I’m sure many of you read an extract from last week on publication day! And if that didn’t make you head straight for Amazon then I hope my review will! 

the-taken-blog-tour-graphic

About this book…

When you’ve lost everything, you’ll do anything to survive.

Saskia Frost’s world is blown apart when her dad dies. Without any family, she’s on her own now and up to her eyeballs in her father’s debts. He owed a lot of money to some very dangerous men – Joshua and Vincent Harper. Before long, aspiring ballerina Saskia finds herself lap-dancing in a London club to survive. A club run by the infamous Harper brothers. Saskia is now their property and they’re going to make her pay every penny back.

Teenager Lena Cona has fled a cruel and controlling marriage. She arrives in England with her newborn daughter, desperately relying on strangers for help. But she soon learns that not everyone can be trusted as she finds herself caught in the clutches of Colin Jefferies, a twisted individual obsessed by his own sinister secrets. As the sickening truth is revealed, Lena is forced to fight for her life – and her baby’s.

When their worlds collide, Lena and Saskia form an unlikely friendship. But with the terrifying Harper brothers on their tail, as well as Lena’s vengeful and violent husband, can they escape with their lives?

Fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers will lose themselves in this brilliantly tense and gripping story.

My Review…

I am so very thankful that Casey Kelleher signed with Bookouture this year as I may not have heard of her or read this book if she hadn’t! I absolutely love the books that this publisher is putting out at the moment and trust them implicitly as they seem to have that magic touch!  So I was excited as a fan of Martina Cole to try a new author to me but I have to say that Casey Kelleher “out-Martina-Coles” Martina Cole! This book is BRILLIANT and I defy anyone to be able to put it down once they pick it up. I took it to bed to read just one or two chapters before I went to sleep…3 hours later I finished it, exhausted both physically and emotionally. Try sleeping after that!

This book has two very strong young women at the heart of its plot and I took to both of them the moment I met them. Both of their stories up to the point of their meeting had me enthralled. And the snippets of a character called Colin also had me rather intrigued, how was this man connected to the girls? And that connection absolutely floored me! What a climax at the end of this gritty, dark and currently relevant thriller but didn’t want it to end!  Not for a long while have I felt so attached to, not one but two, characters in a book that I want to ask Casey where they are now and how they are doing! Fans of Martina Cole with definitely love this one but for me Casey Kelleher has the edge at the moment, her storytelling skills weaved their magic spell over me in a way I hadn’t experienced in this genre for a while.

This book is very highly recommended by me and I can’t wait to read more from Casey Kelleher in the future. 

The Taken: A twisted, gripping crime thriller – not for the faint-hearted is out  published by Bookouture and available to buy here at Amazon UK

About the author…

caseymainpic

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

 

For all news and updates:www.caseykelleher.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/officialcaseykelleher

http://caseykelleher.wordpress.com

Twitter: @caseykelleher

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “The Taken by Casey Kelleher #BlogTour #BookReview @bookouture @CaseyKelleher”

Comments are closed.