Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeny #BookReview

About this book…

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

My review…

Oh I liked this one! In fact, I really REALLY liked this one. I read it in one sitting until 2 in the morning and then I found I couldn’t get to sleep afterwards as the plot twists, especially those final few pages, kept replaying themselves in my head! Even now I’m still thinking about it and that makes this one a standout psychological thriller in my opinion, managing to both surprise and delight me with its original and breathtakingly deceitful concept.

Right from the opening few paragraphs, I was hooked. Amber Reynolds is my favourite kind of protagonist, the unreliable narrator. She admits this herself on the first page so we know that we can’t trust her but as the plot develops, it appears that nearly every character has something to hide and we can’t trust anyone-this was shaping up to be my idea of a perfect psychological thriller! I had no idea where it was heading, thinking I would pick up hints along the way. But the further it delved into the “woman in peril” scenario, the less I managed to figure out who was lying and even more importantly-why?

The scenes I found the most chilling were when Amber was in her hospital bed, able to hear all that was going on around her but not able to see her carers or visitors let alone respond. Her visitors took on a more sinister persona when removed of their visual identity and it was made worse by the fact that Amber couldn’t remember what happened to put her in a coma in the first place. So she was also in the same position as the reader, gradually sifting through the evidence whilst trusting no one, hoping to solve the mystery of how she got there before it’s too late.

This is a superb debut novel from Alice Feeney. She is a gifted storyteller able to weave her deliciously dark and shockingly devious plotlines with her twisted imagination, tormenting her poor readers till the very last sentence. If it hadn’t been the wee small hours of the morning when I finished it, then I would have quickly scrolled back to page one and started to read the whole gripping and gratifying “mind mash” all over again!

Huge thanks to HQ digital and netgalley for my review copy of Sometimes I Lie which I have chosen to read and review.

Sometimes I Lie: The gripping debut psychological thriller you can’t miss in 2017 will be published by HQ digital on 23rd March 2017 and can be pre-ordered at Amazon UK.

About the author…

Alice Feeney is a writer and journalist. She has spent 15 years with BBC News where she worked as a Reporter, News Editor, Arts and Entertainment Producer and One O’Clock News Producer.

Alice is a recent graduate of the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course.

Alice has lived in London and Sydney and has now settled in the Surrey countryside, where she lives with her husband and dog.

Advertisement

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

23 thoughts on “Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeny #BookReview”

  1. I’m dying to read this! NetGalley refused me – no idea why! But I’ll grab it when it comes out – after all, it’s not as if I’m stuck for reading material! I have a huge weakness for unreliable narrators too – I always think they must be really tough to write. I live your “Previous” and “Next” banners btw – that’s the sort of thing I’d like to do, but don’t have a clue! I even managed to change my entire WordPress theme by accident – but decided it looked cleaner, so left it!

    Like

    1. Don’t ask me how I did that!!! I set it up and then haven’t touched it since lol
      Unreliable narrators are my most favourite types! This is only 99p on preorder and think it will provoke a lot of discussions when it’s out!

      Like

  2. Well, I saw the words “really, REALLY” and realised we were in for another understated review. Still not enough exclamation marks!!!!
    I’ve ordered it based on the review, anyway, so something worked!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I aim to please!! I love exclamation marks- I was ahead of my time as I always got told off at school for using too many 😂😂 But at least I don’t use little hearts to dot my i’s anymore!
      This is a great debut-would be an interesting book club choice as will spark many debates I think 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.