The Killer on The Wall by Emma Kavanagh #BookReview

About this book…

The first body comes as a shock

The second brings horror

The third signals the beginning of a nightmare

When fifteen-year-old Isla Bell finds three bodies propped against Hadrian’s Wall, her whole world falls apart. In such a close-knit community, everyone knows the victims, and the man who did it.

Twenty years on and Isla has dedicated her life to forensic psychology; studying the brains of serial killers, and even coming face to face with the convicted murderer who turned her world upside down. She is safe after all, with him behind bars.

Then another body appears against the Wall.

And another.

As the nightmare returns and the body count rises, everyone in town is a suspect.

Who is the Killer on the Wall?

My review…

I have looked forward to reading The Killer on The Wall for a while now and I wasn’t disappointed. Emma Kavanagh has played to her strengths again and based her serial killer thriller in a close knit community where everyone seems to be linked to the crimes committed 20 years ago. Can everyone be trusted especially now it looks like the murders have started up again? And how and why are they happening if the Killer on the Wall is now locked away from society for his crimes.

This is the sort of book where everyone seems like they could be a suspect and we learn to trust no one. Due to the location (which I loved by the way) there was a fabulously claustrophobic atmosphere with all the characters preparing to come together even though their fears were that the murderer was one of their own.

I found this an easy read in a way. I was gripped by the plot details and fascinated by the murderers stylish method of displaying his victims so I read it in one suspense filled session which seemed to fly by as I hardly even raised my head. I had my suspicions about who was responsible but with red herrings galore, I was never able to quite convince myself I was right….Which is just as well as I wasn’t!

I enjoyed The Killer on The Wall more than the authors last book The Missing Hours which took me longer to get into. This one is more on a par with Falling and Hidden so if you enjoyed the writing style of those then you will love this one too.

Many thanks to the publisher for my review copy via netgalley. The Killer On The Wall is published on 20th April 2017 and is available to purchase at Amazon UK by clicking the title above.

Meet the author…

Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. She lives in South Wales with her husband and young sons.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “The Killer on The Wall by Emma Kavanagh #BookReview”

Leave a Reply

