Hope to Die by David Jackson #BookReview

About this book…

On a bitterly cold winter’s night, Liverpool is left stunned by a brutal murder in the grounds of the city’s Anglican Cathedral. A killer is on the loose, driven by a chilling rage.

Put on the case, DS Nathan Cody is quickly stumped. Wherever he digs, the victim seems to be almost angelic – no-one has a bad word to say, let alone a motive for such a violent murder.

And Cody has other things on his mind too. The ghosts of his past are coming ever closer, and – still bearing the physical and mental scars – it’s all he can do to hold onto his sanity.

And then the killer strikes again . . .

My review…

The publication last year of A Tapping at My Door marked the start of a new series for David Jackson and moved his new protagonist, Nathan Cody, away from the New York playground of his previous detective, Callum Doyle, and set him up in Merseyside. I loved the Callum Doyle series but this change in direction is working out really, REALLY well for both author and reader here. The UK setting of Liverpool is very well known by David Jackson and so these books come across with a confident passion for its people and it’s settings which gives them a gritty realism.  I do recommend you start your reading journey with A Tapping at My Door though, it will provide essential backstories to help you understand Nathan’s personality. You will find yourself amazed that he is actually back here in Hope to Die!

I don’t know how he does it but David Jackson can always be relied upon to mess with my emotions which is rather unheard of for me in these hard boiled crime plots he weaves throughout his books. There is an unexpected depth to the crimes so that the reader feels very involved in them very early on, practically becoming another investigator on the case with a vested interest in catching the perpetrator. And the way the dual POV are used means we also get an insight into the mind of that killer which I found very chilling indeed.

The continuing themes of relationships and friendships throughout also bring out the tension in the personal backstories and I was pretty much holding my breath during some scenes between varies characters. I loved the addition of Grace here which also added another layer of interest and I’m chomping at the bit now to find out how circumstances will develop throughout the next books in the series. And that ending sent shivers down my spine!!

It’s been a pleasure to discover that this second book more than lived up to the first, a pretty mean feat especially following on from a much loved preceding series. I love Nathan Cody and can’t wait to see what he has to face next, both in his career and in his personal life.

I received my review copy of Hope to Die from the publisher via netgalley and have chosen to read and review it. Hope to Die: A gripping new serial killer thriller (The DS Nathan Cody series) is published by Zaffre and is available now for purchase at Amazon UK.

Meet the author…

David Jackson is the author of a series of crime thrillers featuring New York Detective Callum Doyle. His debut novel, Pariah, was Highly Commended in the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger Awards. When not writing fiction, David spends his time as a lecturer in a university science department. He also gives occasional workshops on creative writing. He lives on the Wirral peninsula with his wife and two daughters. David can be followed on Twitter, where he goes under the name @Author_Dave.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “Hope to Die by David Jackson #BookReview”

Leave a Reply

