The House by Simon Lelic #BlogTour @HollandsAnnie @Simon_Lelic 

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for The House by Simon Lelic.

Book blurb…

THE PERFECT COUPLE. THE PERFECT HOUSE. THE PERFECT CRIME.

The heart-stopping thriller about a husband and wife who are hiding something from each other, and from you…This book won’t let you go until you’ve found out the truth. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Gillian Flynn and Fiona Barton.

Whose story do YOU believe?

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. And now the police are watching them.

THIS STORY IS THEIR CHANCE…

TO PROVE THEY’RE INNOCENT. 
OR TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER.

My review…

I really enjoyed The House! Well, when I say enjoyed, I did find that for the first half I was actually unable to read it in the dark whilst in bed because it was one of the creepiest, bone chilling thrillers I have read for a long time and it scared the bejesus out of me! I know I’m a wimp at the best of times, but the darkly atmospheric house, especially the contents that were left behind by the previous owner, really did make my skin crawl!

I found that the narrative style enhanced that creepiness during the first half of the book as both Syd and Jack give written accounts of events leading up to their purchase of the house and also to something only hinted at that has occurred since they moved there. This definitely seemed to crank up the tension right from the very first page as we come to realise that the house hasn’t been the dream buy that they thought it had been. There was one scene described by Jack when he gets up in the middle of the night as he thinks he hears a noise…..well, I nearly had to put the book in the freezer to get it away from me until I could calm down enough to read on!

The dynamics did change direction slightly in the second half but it still maintained a menacing  air of suspense. This part didn’t quite live up to the promise of the first half for me but I still enjoyed watching the threads all come together. I’m a huge Hitchcock fan, and it was the comparisons to his work that attracted me to The House in the first place. There is certainly a distinct nod to the great director with the slow burning plot leading to an horrific act of violence and maintaining an almost sickening level of suspense till the very end. It was very much a visual feast for the imagination and a pretty terrifying one at that.

This is more of an experience in suspense than a psychological thriller. But that didn’t spoil my enjoyment of The House one little bit. In fact it was probably enhanced by the unexpected journey it took me on. I hadn’t read anything by Simon Lelic before but I would definitely look to read more by him in the future based on The House. Brilliantly twisty and gripping with a uniquely distinctive narrative, this taut and creepy tale is recommended by me if you fancy scaring yourself silly for a few hours!

To purchase click The House: The brilliantly tense and terrifying thriller with a shocking twist – whose story do you believe? which is published by Penguin on 17th August 2017.

Meet the author…


Simon Lelic is the author of three previous novels: Rupture (winner of a Betty Trask Award and shortlisted for the John Creasy Debut Dagger), The Facility and The Child Who (longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2012). The House is his first psychological thriller, inspired by a love of Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King.

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

6 thoughts on “The House by Simon Lelic #BlogTour @HollandsAnnie @Simon_Lelic ”

Comments are closed.