Snowday by B.R. Maycock #BookReview @BRMaycock

About this book…

Sometimes hot cocoa just isn’t enough to keep you warm in the snow…

Eloise is too busy juggling the chaos of three kids, an ever present ex-husband and a demanding boss to even remember the last time dating crossed her mind.

But as soft snow falls silently all around, romance twinkles with the flakes.

After being single for so long, Eloise suddenly has a lot of choices. Too many choices. Will anyone be worthy of melting the guard around her heart to let love in?

A fun-filled, festive read for fans of Christie Barlow, Fiona Gibson and Colleen Coleman

My review…

I always try to read Christmas themed books in December but when this one landed on my kindle I just had to break my own rules and read it as soon as I could. B.R Maycock is a well known and respected blogger in her “day job” so I was intrigued to read her second book especially as she has been compared to Christie Barlow who’s a favourite author of mine.

I absolutely loved the idea for this book! Who doesn’t love a “Snowday”?! Well, parents for a start! I remember when my girls were unable to go to school because of heavy snowfall and although they loved it and were out sledging and building snowmen, I was madly trying to work from home due to not being able to get to work (car stuck on driveway plus no childcare) and I ran out of dog food and COFFEE without being able to get out to the shops. And poor old Eloise seems to have similar problems when she wakes up one morning to discover very large flakes of the white stuff have covered the landscape overnight. Being separated from her husband means that everything falls upon her shoulders and we end up following her hilarious attempts to keep her own life, plus those of her tribe, running smoothly whilst up against natures worst (or best depending on your age and snowboarding skills!!)

I devoured this book in one sofa session and actually covered my legs with a blanket at one point as it really did make me feel as though I was cuddled up seeking refuge with my very own snowday! Eloise was an enormously likeable character that I felt really connected to, empathetic towards her struggles to keep everything and everyone organised. The men she connects with along the way were all intriguing characters and even watching Eloise interact with them, I had no idea if this hysterically funny storyline was also going to end up with a happy ever after for our stressed out heroine. So it was loads of fun following her escapades during her snowday and beyond.

This really was a fun filled, festive read and I thoroughly enjoyed becoming lost in the snowy depths of Eloise’s snowday. A great book to lose yourself in this December!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07KGK8ZDT/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1542143985&sr=8-2&keywords=snowday

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KGK8ZDT/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1542144051&sr=8-1&keywords=snowday+bernadette

Meet the author…

When Bernadette Maycock isn’t dreaming up vibrant leads for romantic comedies, she’s ingesting books for her blog (https://brmaycock.wordpress.com/), in particular chick lit (her first love!) books, romantic comedies and thrillers. She can also be found playing footie or watching Marvel, DC or Star Wars movies and cartoons in Co. Westmeath, Ireland with her brilliantly out there husband, Keith, and their four epic little men.

Her debut ‘It Started With A Snub’ is available on Amazon, and Bernadette is currently working on a three part romantic comedy series about AbbeyGlen Village. She has one goal and that’s simply to make readers smile and/ or laugh (a splutter rates highest;)).

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.