Lazy Sunday catch up on My Chestnut Reading Tree

I can’t believe that it’s December already! It’s always a busy month in our household (as it is in most I know!) with Christmas and 3 family birthdays to plan for and it’s also usually a busy time for the blog as I do my “Countdown to Christmas” blog posts. For anyone that’s a new follower this is when I count down the most viewed book reviews from each month as I count the days to Christmas. But when I came to work out posts, I realised that I had a bit of a “problem” this year. Since March my top viewed post each month is for…THE SAME BOOK! Now I have no idea why one particular post has gained more views than any other post I’ve ever written but I thought I’d share that review again today.

Personally I’ve not had the best of weeks either. I’ve been laid up in bed for most of it with the flu. And unfortunately it meant that although I was off ill, I was also too poorly to even read as my eyes felt like they were on fire! I slept it off as best as I could but being a workaholic, I decided to go back into school on Friday which was probably a bad idea in hindsight as it’s set me back and I’ve been back in bed again this weekend. But I also found out when I went into work that the funding has been stopped for my position at school so come January I no longer have a job. I have to say the news couldn’t have come on a worse day and I was absolutely gutted. Anyone who knows me knows how passionate I am about my job and adore the staff and children that I work with so I was very upset. My husband was amazingly supportive and took me out to cheer me up but when we got home we realised that someone had left chocolate out which meant our little dog Darcy had eaten a whole bar of the stuff. So a dash to the emergency vets followed. She’s fine now hopefully but still as greedy as ever so I’m putting a ban on chocolate and mince pies and Christmas cake in the house this year (probably better for my waistline too with a wedding to look fabulous for next year!)

It’s at times like this I wish I could write because January would be the perfect time to start that future bestseller but instead I’ve signed up to some online courses which should hopefully increase my chances of employment as I’m aware that my age is against me nowadays. I’m incredibly sad to be leaving a job I love but every cloud and all that jazz!!!!

Anyway, here is my most viewed post on my blog this year. Enjoy!

About this book…

He’ll make sure she never wants to leave…

Holly never thought she’d move back to her home town, but then something terrible happened. She doesn’t know if she can recover. But she knows she can never tell another soul.

People say her neighbour, David, is “different”. He doesn’t go out much, and never after dark. But in David Holly finds just what she needs: a friend. Someone who’s always there.

No one knows Holly’s secret, or where she lives. She has left the past behind. She is sure of it. So why does she feel as though she’s in terrible danger?

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller, from the bestselling author of Blink and The Mistake. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door.

My review…

I am a big fan of K.L. Slater! She always manages to make the twistiest of twists work so well in her books and does so with a side order of relish! I really don’t know how she does it but she always ends up fooling me not just once but often twice or more! I am always on the look out for her next psychological thriller to get my fix cos this woman really rocks her twists!!!

There are three main characters here and they take turns with telling the story, each hiding secrets and all unreliable narrators. There is Holly who has come back to her home town, fleeing a past life in Manchester and convinced someone is watching her every move. She’s trying to move on with a good job, and a nice place to stay but is her past about to catch up with her? David is still living at home with his mum after an “incident” that no one talks about. When Holly moves in next door and ends up working for the same company they become friends. But is his “hobby” about to get him into trouble? And then there is Cora who has taken in Holly to help her. Is this lovely old lady to be trusted as her memory doesn’t seem to be working as well as it used to? As small clues start to appear it is obvious that someone is in danger but from who and why?

Well, I just flew through this book in just one afternoon. I couldn’t rest until I got to the bottom of what had happened to Holly and why? There was a permanent taste of fear and anxiety in my mouth as the tension started to build up towards what I had half hoped wouldn’t happen…..BUT IT DID! But boy, did the last few pages prove that I know NOTHING!!! The twists came thick and fast and just when you thought you had it all then BAM! another one came along to floor you! Oh the deception…..I LOVED IT! This is one of those books you just want to go back and start from the beginning again so you can read it with the knowledge that you now have just so you can see exactly how clever this book is!

Full of intriguing characters that you’re never quite sure if you like or not, The Visitor is a gripping read with a killer hook and some twistier than twisty shocks. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Meet the author…

Kim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers ‘Safe With Me,’ ‘Blink,’ ‘Liar’ and ‘The Mistake.’ Her latest thriller, ‘The Visitor’ is published 2nd March 2018 and is now available for pre-order.

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected a stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children’s Books, writing as Kim Slater.

Author website: http://www.KLSlaterAuthor.com

Twitter: @KimLSlater

Facebook: KL Slater Author

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

30 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday catch up on My Chestnut Reading Tree”

  1. Awww jo sorry to read your having a bad time of it, hopefully things will improve for you. I’m sure something will come along for you. I for one will be glad to say goodbye to 2018 it’s been one of the worst years ever for me x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I’m the same so here’s to us both having the 2019 that we deserve!! Not long to go now. Thanks for being such a support this year Lorraine and I truly hope everything improves for you soon xxx

      Like

  2. What a horrible few months you’ve had. I hope you feel better really soon and that Darcy recovers fully as well! I’m keeping my fingers crossed you will find a new job soon that will bring you just as much joy as your old one did and that the universe treats you and your family far better from now on! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As I’m a known as Little Miss Positive by Kenny, I have to agree that 2019 is going to be a fabulous year!! Surely it can’t be worse than this year 😂 Although it was my 30th wedding anniversary and I had an AMAZING week in Italy with the grumpy Scotsman! So there have been highs as well as lows. And Harrogate was good fun too wasn’t it-and you were able to go which again was an unexpected bonus! 😘😘😘

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Karen. I’m feeling a little better today and not so sorry for myself 🤣🤣 I just loved my job so much and it was a pleasure going in everyday which is such a bonus isn’t it? Here’s to 2019 being a great year for us all! Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your positive attitude and I am sure this will serve you well as you go into the new year and a new chapter in your life. Hope you feel better soon and happy reading, birthday party planning, blogging and Christmas… hell woman how do you find to work as well 😀😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your job but I’m sure there will be something great lined up for you in the future! Good thing Darcy (that cheeky thing) is feeling better too. I still haven’t read any book by K.A. Slater, how can that be?! I’ll put it on my list for 2019 :-). I hope next year will bring you much joy and happiness!

    Like

  5. So sorry about your job and good luck with the online courses, but you know, you shouldn’t say you can’t write, because your reviews are always a joy to read. I’ve just read your day in a life post (sorry, forgot to like it, will go back and do it!) but a story about an ordinary mum, dealing with ordinary stuff and the crisis you had a few months ago when one of your grandchildren was ill on holiday…well, that’s the stuff that makes a best seller. You should give it a go – I’d buy it! x

    Like

Comments are closed.