The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @Bookouture

Today I’m sharing a review of The Silent Dead as part of the blog tour. Many thanks to Noelle from Bookouture for the tour invite.

About this book…

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough…

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James. 

My review…

I was thrilled when I heard that another favourite crime author had a new heroine to introduce to us. Graham Smith is responsible for the Jake Boulder series which I ABSOLUTELY LOVE so I was keen to meet Detective Beth Young.

This is the first female protagonist that Graham Smith has introduced to us as a lead character and I thought she was fabulous! A feisty female detective who was the perfect opponent for the twisted serial killer stalking the area. She comes with baggage (don’t they all!?!) and some facial scarring that adds a frisson for a certain someone! But she still remains a bit of an enigma and I hope we find out a little bit more about her backstory in future books. The relationships she forms with her team are probably some of the best I’ve read recently. And because of that, this investigation felt realistically portrayed which is a real bonus for fans of police procedural novels.

This is a dark and gruesome crime chiller that made me feel incredibly uncomfortable at times. The villain is well drawn and creepy at all times plus I was kept guessing as to their identity which I liked! The setting was an added bonus for me as it set up a sense of time and place that was atmospheric and current.

Overall an enjoyable crime thriller!

Meet the author…

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel – The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.