🎄🎶On The Sixth Day of Christmas Bloodhound Books gave to me…🎶🎄 Cold Alice by C.P. Wilson #BloodhoundChristmasCrackerBlogTour

Today I’m taking part in Bloodhounds Christmas Cracker Blog Tour with my review of Ice Cold Alice by C.P. Wilson.

About this book…

They thought that they had all the power, until she took it from them.

A killer hunts abusive spouses, blogging about their sins post-kill. Soon the murders and the brazen journaling draws the attention of Police Scotland’s CID.

This killer works with surgical preparation, precision and skill, using a unique weapon of her own and never leaves a trace of evidence behind.

Edinburgh’s DI Kathy McGuire, nearing the end of her career, begins the hunt for the murderer as a media frenzy erupts. But McGuire might have met her match…

What has led this killer to take the law into her own hands?

Is the woman accountable really a cold-hearted killer or a desperate vigilante?

My review…

Sometimes you start reading a book and you stop to check the blurb again because you realise that the book you are reading far outweighs the book you were expecting! And that’s what happened to me here because this book caught me out with a plot and setting that were far superior to anything I could have hoped for. Once I started reading, that was it and this book became like another limb-attached to me permanently! I absolutely loved it!

The plot follows a serial killer who is unlike any murderer around at the moment. Her victims are men who are abusive to their wives and pretty nasty pieces of work they are too. So I found myself actually cheering her on alongside her supporters, followers of her blog and Twitter account (although I have to admit it took me nearly the whole book to get the Tequila Mockingbird pun!!) Now this obviously isn’t great news for the detective who is in charge of finding her, DI Kathy McGuire. Now, if I loved Alice then I just felt such an incredible empathy with Kathy. It was inspiring to have the investigation lead by a woman in her 50s who was also trying to balance her family life with her career, definitely a protagonist I could identify with!

I ran the whole gauntlet of emotions with this one, teetering on the edge of my seat and utterly lost in the drama that was unfolding before me. It moves at speed, delivering satisfactory bursts of tension as the reader encounters the unexpected twists and turns of the plot. A smorgasbord of imperfect characters is presented to us in such a way as to make them not only relatable but also very likeable as you get engrossed in their stories.

I haven’t read any of this authors books before but having read and thoroughly enjoyed Ice Cold Alice, I will most definitely be reading MORE! This has turned out to be one of my most unexpected pleasures of 2017 so far. It just didn’t put a foot wrong for me. I loved everything about it right down to that spectacular cover. And if ever a book was crying out for a big screen Hollywood adaptation then Ice Cold Alice would be it!

Highly recommended by me!

Meet the author…

Mark Wilson is the Amazon-bestselling author of ten works of fiction and one non-fiction memoir. He also writes Crime Thrillers under the pseudonym, C.P. Wilson

Mark’s short story ‘Glass Ceiling’ won first prize in May, 2015 on Spinetingler’s Short story competition and will be included in Ryan Bracha’s Twelve Nights at Table Six. dEaDINBURGH reached the quarter finals of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award in 2014 and is a finalist in the Wishing Shelf Book Awards, 2015.

Mark’s works include:

Coming of Age – Bobby’s Boy.

Psychological Thriller (Novella) – Head Boy.

International Thriller – Naebody’s Hero .

Horror novels – dEaDINBURGH: Vantage, dEaDINBURGH: Alliances, dEaDINBURGH: Origins, dEaDINBURGH: Hunted

Satire: On The Seventh Day

Psychological Satire: Wake Up And Smell The Coffin

Autobiography – Paddy’s Daddy

As C.P. Wilson:

Psychological Thriller – Ice Cold Alice (Tequila Mockingbird 1) (Bloodhound Books)

Medical Thriller – The Only Truth That Sticks

Psychological Thriller – half the Lies You Tell Are true

Mark’s acclaimed Lanarkshire Strays series are standalone novels and feature Mark’s home county. Lanarkshire Strays is also available as an omnibus edition.

His novels have been well received and feature Scottish characters and locations.

Mark has several other stories in progress:

Tequila Mockingbird book 2

The Headnet – Sci-Fi Dystopic Nightmare

AMSTERDAMned – Horror

Vesalius – Historical Fiction

Mark currently teaches Biology in a Fife secondary school and is founder of Paddy’s Daddy Publishing, a company he set up to assist Scottish authors. He writes in his spare time, in lieu of sleep.

You can visit Mark at markwilsonbooks.com or facebook.com/markwilsonbooks

You can also connect with Mark on twitter: @bellshillwilson

And make sure you follow the rest of the blog tour. Here are the other dates and books to look out for.


Published by


I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.