Deliver Me by Karen Cole #BookReview

About this book…

THE NIGHT SHE DOESN’T REMEMBER WILL BE THE ONE SHE CAN’T FORGET

When Abby’s doctor tells her she’s two months pregnant she doesn’t believe him. She can’t be – she hasn’t had sex for over a year. But to her astonishment and dismay, multiple tests confirm it’s true.

Desperately searching for an explanation, Abby recalls New Year’s Day – the terrible hangover, the hole in her memory where the night before should have been and the inexplicable sense of unease – and realises that this baby must have been conceived at her best friend Danny’s NYE party.

Horrified that someone would have taken advantage of her intoxicated state, Abby enlists the help of Danny to find out which of the party guests assaulted her. But, when she starts to receive anonymous messages, it seems that while she has been looking into the father of her baby, someone has been watching her…

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Louise Jensen and C.L. Taylor.

My review…

Whilst I read a couple of books with a similar “amnesia” storyline last year, I have to say that this book really did blow those others out of the water! The premise here that forms the basis of the storyline really was one that shocked the hell out of me! What would you do if you went to the doctors because you were feeling ill and he diagnosed your pregnancy? Well that would be great news…unless you hadn’t had sex for more than a year!! And that’s what happens when Abby takes a positive pregnancy test and realises that she’s must have been drugged then raped at her friend Danny’s New Years Eve party. And as she retraces her steps from that night, she realises that she’s not the only one seeking answers and that someone is out there…watching her.

Deliver Me is such an incredibly exciting but terrifying debut novel from Karen Cole. I was completely gripped from the first page as the tension was slowly built upon so that I was in a permanent state of anxiety throughout. The plot itself made me feel very uncomfortable at times, the fact that Abby had an unwanted and unremembered sexual encounter that resulted in her conceiving, was often difficult to read about. But Karen Cole handled it perfectly without too much lasciviousness so that although we know what must have occurred, we don’t get a detailed account of what happened. Saying that, there are a few disturbing paragraphs to read but I think by that time, we are desperate to know who, what, where and why so it’s an important part of the plot development.

This is a clever “cat and mouse” game that kept my attention throughout. The characters are well crafted and I felt a connection with Abby. She didn’t always make decisions that I agreed with but where would the fun be if she did?! The pace didn’t let up even in the middle so I became very quickly engrossed and read this in one session (thankfully hubby was off over Christmas so I didn’t even have to leave the sofa for a cuppa and a chocolate biscuit!). I was also completely wrong in my predictions about what had really happened when Abby conceived her baby and I loved that Karen Cole was able to pull the wool over my eyes, especially in her debut. I was so impressed that the minute I finished Deliver Me I went straight to Amazon and preordered her second novel Deceive Me which is out in July this year.

Highly recommended by me!

Meet the author…

Karen Cole grew up in the Cotswolds and got a degree in psychology at Newcastle University. She spent several years teaching English around the world before settling in Cyprus with her husband and two sons, where she works at a British army base as a primary school teacher. She recently completed the Curtis Brown writing course where she found her love of writing psychological thrillers.

Deliver Me is her debut novel.

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

5 thoughts on “Deliver Me by Karen Cole #BookReview”

Comments are closed.