The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor #onetowatch #1in100People

About this book…

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

We all recognise them. Those who sit just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the back of our necks. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go that one step too far. And then take another step.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes.

Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family . . . 

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of HE SAID/SHE SAID and Belinda Bauer, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

My review…

The Dangerous Kind starts with an encounter that turns into something more dangerous and then splits into two different timelines. We follow broadcaster Jessamine who is asked to look into the disappearance of a young mother in the present day and then we are thrown back in time to a very dark and unsettling story of abuse. Quite how these two threads are connected takes a while to become clear and there are other twists and turns happening all the while to keep the reader on their toes. What follows is a disturbing but intensely intriguing storyline that covers topical subjects with a sympathetic narrative.

Jessamine (beautifully named!) was my favourite character here. Feisty and unafraid to pursue the truth whilst breaking the rules, Jessamine really stood out for me. The secrets she’s hiding from her daughter unfortunately mean that she’s typically unaware of those being kept from HER so expect some explosive emotions once the plot starts to come together. I had an idea where it was going but have to admit that the author completely pulled the wool over my eyes with certain aspects of the unraveling which made me gasp out loud at one point.

Deborah O’Conner has written a brooding and thought provoking thriller with a relevant storyline that could be very upsetting for some readers. The subject of domestic violence is covered plus childhood sexual exploitation but these are sympathetically explored with a depth of understanding and never with any gratuitous content. The investigative journey that Jessamine took became completely gripping as the full extent of the plot becomes revealed making this book unputdownable! Deborah O’Conner has really done her research here and it shows in the strength of her narrative and the brilliant ending.

Highly recommended by me!

About the author…

Deborah O’Connor is a writer and TV producer. Born and bred in the North-East of England, in 2010 she completed the Faber Academy novel writing course. She lives in London with her husband and daughter. Deborah’s first novel was the bestseller My Husband’s Son. The Dangerous Kind is her second novel. You can follow her on twitter @deboc77

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor #onetowatch #1in100People”

Comments are closed.