Our Life In A Day by Jamie Fewery #blogtour @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Today I’m delighted to be sharing my review as part of the blog tour for Our Life In A Day. Huge thanks to Tracy Fenton for my invite onto the tour.

About this book…

The rules are simple: choose the most significant moments from your relationship – one for each hour in the day.

You’d probably pick when you first met, right? 
And the instant you knew for sure it was love? 
Maybe even the time you watched the sunrise after your first night together?

But what about the car journey on the holiday where everything started to go wrong? Or your first proper fight?

Or that time you lied about where you’d been?

It’s a once in a lifetime chance to learn the truth.

But if you had to be completely honest with the one you love, would you still play?

For Esme and Tom, the game is about to begin. But once they start, there’s no going back . . .

Following Esme and Tom’s relationship over twenty-four individual hours of ups, downs and everything in between, Our Life in a Day is the most heartbreaking and moving love story you’ll read in 2019 – perfect for fans of Josie Silver’s One Day in December, Jojo Moyes, and Roxie Cooper’s The Day We Met.

What did I think…

To be honest I’m struggling to know what to say about this stunning book! It’s just so beautifully written with such raw emotions that it’s one that will stay with me for sometime. And shockingly it’s a debut novel! Also, I have to applaud Jamie Fewery for writing about men’s mental health issues within a book that spotlights the relationship of one couple in a unique and meaningful way.

It may sound like a sweet and innocent game that Esme has devised for their anniversary meal but it’s going to be a long and tough virtual day for their relationship. Tom has a post-it note for every day of the day but he needs to write on it a moment that actually happened in reality in that hour. So there isn’t a chronological order to those 24 hours of their relationship but I thought this was a brilliant way of seeing those moments that defined the key points for them during the last ten years.

I found it strange how completely and utterly involved I became in this book from very early on. Both Esme and Tom were delicately drawn characters who felt so realistic with both having flaws and strengths to define them as a couple. This meant that I wanted their relationship to work through those lows and learn from their mistakes as they dissected the key moments of their time together, examining them with a brutal honesty.

By the end I think I was a little in love with Tom myself. But I wouldn’t class this as a romance. It reminded me of One Day by David Nicholls (which is one of my most favourite books ever) mainly due to that ever present worry and fear that something big is about to happen but you just don’t know what-you just hope it’s something good big and not bad big!!

By the time I came to the end of Our Life In a Day I was absolutely sobbing. I wasn’t affected so much by the culmination of the the storyline but by the fact that I now had to say goodbye to Esme and Tom, that that was it and I would never know what they were doing nowadays and if they were okay! It’s not often characters become so real to me that I miss them when I close the the last page but this couples relationship really did speak to me with a must trusted sincerity from the author and I really didn’t want to let them go.

Our Life In a Day was a sensitively written joy to read and I adored every single page. Please write another book as soon as possible Jamie Fewery!

Meet the author…

Jamie Fewery is an author, columnist and copywriter. During the past few years he has written for the Daily Telegraph, Five Dials and Wired, and works for a London-based marketing and creative agency. He lives in Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire with his wife, and watches a lot of sport on the television.

Advertisements

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “Our Life In A Day by Jamie Fewery #blogtour @Tr4cyF3nt0n”

Comments are closed.