The First Mistake by Sandie Jones #BookReview

About this book…

The First Mistake is the stunning second novel from The Other Woman author Sandie Jones, who delivers twist after heart-stopping twist, in this addictively readable domestic suspense about a wife, her husband, and her best friend. Perfect for fans of The Mother-in-Law and My Lovely Wife.

For Alice, life has never been better. 

After the death of her first husband, she has remarried, with a successful business, two children and a beautiful house. 

In Beth, she also has the best friend she has always wanted. A friend without judgement, she is the most trustworthy and loyal person Alice knows. 

So when Alice begins to suspect her husband Nathan is having an affair, Alice turns to Beth to help her find the truth. She can trust Beth, can’t she . . .?

My review…

Sandie Jones first book, The Other Woman, was one of my favourite books of last year and one that I recommended to many readers especially as a holiday read because once started it was impossible to put down. So Her First Mistake was a must read for me!! Did it live up to my super high expectations?! Absolutely!!! It’s another twisty relationship thriller which will keep you guessing until the very last page.

I love it when a book takes me in a totally different direction to the one I was expecting and here, Sandie Jones made me do a complete 180 degree turnaround in my expectations due to a twist part way through Her First Mistake that I hadn’t seen coming! With my jaw firmly planted on the floor, I then had to completely reassess my opinions of characters I thought had been thrown in to support our protagonist but who had been quietly waiting to surprise us!

Sandie Jones writes involving and gripping moral dilemmas with characters that you can empathise with even if you don’t find them particularly likeable! Expect your emotions to be played with throughout with some shocking twists and behaviours but, OH MY GOODNESS, what a thrilling denouement! If you love a twisty thriller that keeps you guessing then you are going to love this book!

This is a brilliant second novel from Sandie Jones and is hopefully another bestseller for her-she thoroughly deserves all the stars for this one!

Meet the author…

Sandie Jones has been a freelance journalist for over 20 years, interviewing celebrities for Hello, Woman’s Weekly and the national daily newspapers. Amongst her favourite people to talk to are Paul O’Grady, Joanna Lumley, Julie Walters and the late Bruce Forsyth.

Her debut novel, The Other Woman, is a psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between a woman and her partner’s mother.

If Sandie wasn’t an author she’d be an interior designer as she has an unhealthy obsession with cushions!

She lives in London with her husband and three children.

Advertisement

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

5 thoughts on “The First Mistake by Sandie Jones #BookReview”

Comments are closed.