Keep Her Close by Erik Therme #BlogTour @BOTBSPublicity

Today I’m sharing my review of Keep Her Close. Huge thanks to Sarah Hardy for the invite onto the tour.

About this book…

Then:
Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot.
She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter.
What kind of person would abandon their daughter?

Now:
Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family.
But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.

A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

My review…

This is my first book by Erik Therme but I can guarantee that it won’t be the last. It was a thrill a minute, rollercoaster of a read with lots of twists and turns to keep the reader interested and most of which I didn’t see coming until they hit me right between the eyes!

It’s a heartbreaking start to Keep Her Close when a young girl is found wandering by Dan and Holly with a sign around her neck saying “Free to Good home”. A woman’s body is found nearby but there are no other clues to her identity. Eventually Dan and Holly are able to give Allie her “forever home” but when Ally one day receives a letter from a man claiming to be her real father, there begins a race against time to work out who sent the letter…and find Ally who seems to have disappeared!

This is a fast paced and twisty read that follows Dan as he tries to find his daughter and work out why she has disappeared and who is responsible. It took me on an emotional journey as Dan figured out who he could trust to help him. Dan took risks and put himself into dangerous situations that had me mentally shouting at him to watch out!!! Honestly, why don’t characters ever listen to me when I do that?! I have to say that the storyline didn’t take quite the direction that I was expecting but that’s not a bad thing! It was well written and compelling with a stylish narrative that reminded me of Harlan Coben at times so if you’re a fan of that author then you may want to try out Erik Therme.

I’m not sure how I feel about the ending but that’s just a personal response to the way in which the author brought Keep Her Close to a close. I would have liked a little more closure but I can completely understand why he chose to end the book this way.

I really enjoyed Keep Her Close and can’t wait to discover more from Erik Therme.

Meet the author…

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L  

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “Keep Her Close by Erik Therme #BlogTour @BOTBSPublicity”

Comments are closed.