Through The Wall by Caroline Corcoran @cgcorcoran @AvonBooksUK

About this book…

Lexie’s got the perfect life. And someone else wants it…

Lexie loves her home. She feels safe and secure in it – and loved, thanks to her boyfriend Tom.

But recently, something’s not been quite right. A book out of place. A wardrobe door left open. A set of keys going missing…

Tom thinks Lexie’s going mad – but then, he’s away more often than he’s at home nowadays, so he wouldn’t understand.

Because Lexie isn’t losing it. She knows there’s someone out there watching her. And, deep down, she knows there’s nothing she can do to make them stop…

A compelling, heart-racing thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder long after you turn the last page. The perfect read for fans of Louise Candlish and Adele Parks.

My review…

An early review for me as Through The Wall is not out until October but when this popped through my letterbox last week, I was so intrigued (and had a childfree afternoon to do some housework…ooops!) that I started it straight away!

Harriet and Lexi are next door neighbours but not the kind where you chat over the garden fence with a cup of coffee in your hand! In fact, they haven’t actually met mainly due to a weird unwritten rule in their apartment building where nobody shares the lift with any other residents. But they hear each other through their adjoining wall and both think that they know how the other is living their life. But as we all know, eavesdropping on someone never gives a true representation of the life that person is leading, just the lifestyle that they want you to THINK they are living! And that forms the basis of the storyline here as both women give their perspectives in alternative chapters that are short and gripping. Saying that, this is very much a slow burner driven by these two women, each of whom are convinced that the grass is greener on the other side of that wall.

I have to say that to begin with I wasn’t quite sure which of the women was in the institution being visited in the prologue and it took me a while to work out where the plot was going. Both of the women were difficult to take to due to their own issues and insecurities but this made me I want to know more and look deeper into what was causing their deeply unhappy existence. What has happened in their lives to make them this way? The answers aren’t particularly shocking but I did then start to realise the depths to which one of our characters was destined to sink to.

I have to admit to feeling more empathy than I expected for Harriet and Lexie as I don’t think any of us can predict our reactions to situations unless we have physically been through them ourselves. Sometimes it just takes one seemingly insignificant thing to push us over that edge and the characters here certainly go through plenty of emotional traumas that would be the final straw for so many of us.

Through The Wall is a gripping story of obsession and jealousy that delved into how easy it is to find out everything about people (especially those who live out their lives on social media) and how those manufactured, perfect lives are anything but. Caroline Corcoran has written a chilling and creepy debut with some rather unlikable characters that gradually built up the tension until the expected ending was delivered. I devoured read it in one sitting and felt rather sad when I had finished it. One to keep an eye out for in October.

Meet the author…

Caroline is a freelance lifestyle and popular culture writer and editor with 15 years’ experience. She has worked for most of the top magazines, newspapers and websites in the country, and also as a copywriter for brands and websites. After 14 years in London, Caroline recently returned up north to the Wirral because she had a baby and there was more free grandparent babysitting available there. You’ll often find her feeling travelsick but still trying to write on a Virgin Pendolino into Euston.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.