Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown #blogtour @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Today I’m sharing my review of Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown. Many thanks to Tracy Fenton for the blog tour invite.

About this book…

You trust your family. They love you. Don’t they?

When 17-year-old Eva Olsen awakes after a horrific accident that has left her bedbound, her parents are right by her side. Devoted, they watch over her night and day in the attic room of their family home in the forests of Norway.

But the accident has left Eva without her most recent memories, and not everything is as it seems. As secrets from the night of the accident begin to surface, Eva realises – she has to escape her parents’ house and discover the truth. But what if someone doesn’t want her to find it?

An edge-of-your-seat, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

My review…

I’ve long been a huge fan of Isabel Ashdown’s writing so was really looking forward to Lake Child. And I have to say it was well worth the wait as I’m pretty confident that it’s her best book so far! It’s certainly my favourite of her books so far especially since it blew me away with some brilliantly shocking twists that I didn’t see coming! If, like me, you think you’ve solved the mystery when you read it then don’t get too cocky because I guarantee there are some bigger shocks to come!

The first few chapters made me ask so many questions that I thought I’d burst! Why is Eva locked away? Where is she? What has happened to her? And why don’t her devoted parents want anyone else in the house? Eva was confused and bewildered by her situation and I could well understand why! I was desperate to uncover the secrets being kept by everyone close to Eva and discover why her parents were being so overly protective of her. And then there was Maxine who was working with a ghost writer to tell her life story. Who was she and what did her past have to do with Eva? My frustrations began to build as I raced through this addictive storyline but I became totally involved in the lives of these characters and gripped by their actions. Eva was such a well written character who’s determination to remember the events leading up her accident was perfectly captured by some beautifully descriptive prose. And the Norwegian setting was carefully created to provide a chilling backdrop to the family dynamics that sat at the heart of Eva’s uncertainty about her forgotten trauma.

There are authors who’s books I preorder before I even know what they are about and Isabel Ashdown is one of them. I trust her to deliver family orientated psychological suspense that will suck me in from the very start. The first few pages of Lake Child were perfectly pitched for maximum captivation, a skill that Isabel Ashdown has down to a fine art now. I just loved Lake Child so much that it’s shot onto my favourite books of the year list. It is definitely very highly recommended by me!

Meet the author…

Dark, compelling and beautifully twisty … have you read Isabel yet? Isabel’s thrillers BEAUTIFUL LIARS and LITTLE SISTER were both Amazon bestsellers, and both were shortlisted in the prestigious Dead Good Reader Awards. Her latest novel is LAKE CHILD, a dark and haunting thriller set in a remote valley town in the heart of Norway’s ancient fjords (out September 2019).

Isabel Ashdown was born in London and grew up on the Sussex coast. Her writing career first took off ten years ago when an extract of her debut novel GLASSHOPPER won a national writing competition and was twice named among the Best Books of the Year. Today she is the author of seven books, a Royal Literary Fund Lector, and a regular creative writing host at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. She lives and writes in West Sussex with her family and their two dogs.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

One thought on “Lake Child by Isabel Ashdown #blogtour @Tr4cyF3nt0n”

Comments are closed.