It’s M.A. Comley week! Day 3! Overdue Justice (Justice #19) by M.A. Comley @Melcom1 #melcomleyweek

Welcome to Day 3 of M.A. Comley week where I catch up on my reading of Mel Comleys books! Once again I need to thank Mel Comley for my review copy of Overdue Justice which is the 19th and THE LAST book in her fabulous Justice series.

About this book…

Time is supposed to be a great healer…
However, sometimes to heal isn’t enough.

Back on duty for her final case, DI Lorne Warner and her team are assigned one of their most gruesome cases to date when a man is found murdered in his home. 

The brutal nature of the crime makes Lorne suspect a woman is behind the murder.

But why?

What could her motive be?

With less than two weeks to go before Lorne retires, can she solve not one gruesome murder but a number of them?

Could there possibly be a female serial killer on the loose or something far more sinister afoot? 

Grab this fast-paced thriller today and prepare to be riveted to the edge of your seat.

My review…

So it’s with a heavy heart that I write my final review for the Justice series and what an amazing and emotional ride it’s been! This series will always have a special place in my heart as it was the series that introduced me to the books of M.A. Comley in the first place.

Having seen a few good reviews I decided to take a chance on it and I’ve not regretted that decision for one second since! In fact it seems longer than 4 years since I first met Lorne Simpkins (or Warner as she is now known 19 books later!) so this was quite a emotional read for me and probably the reason it’s taken me so long to get round to reading it! If I haven’t read it then the series hasn’t really ended has it?!

Lorne is awaiting her retirement but there’s still two weeks left at work and she is about to investigate one of the most harrowing cases of her career. When a man is found murdered in the most gruesome of circumstances it leads Lorne to think a woman might be responsible. And when other bodies start to pile up, all with an identical MO, the possibility that a female serial killer is on the loose starts to become more likely. Be warned that this is a really horrendous case for Lorne with some rather upsetting scenes at times that have to be described due to the nature of the crime. I found myself very torn at times as I found the crimes very upsetting but I also felt as though I were on the killers side throughout. So where does that leave Lorne then? How will she keep her personal feelings and opinions to one side to make sure justice is served when in most people’s opinions it already has been?

As usual Lorne has to face personal problems alongside the case she is involved in, especially as she is trying to wind down with her approaching retirement and move to the country. Overdue Justice rips along at a pace and a half with a gripping plot line and a cast of much loved and much hated characters. I thought it was a very fitting way to retire Lorne and a great case for her to end on.

Highly recommended by me.

Meet the author…

M A Comley is a KINDLE UNLIMITED ALL-STAR author as well as being a New York Times, USA Today, Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, she has topped the book charts on iBooks as a top 5 bestselling and reached #2 bestselling author on Barnes and Noble. Over two and a half million copies sold world wide. She’s a British author who moved to France in 2002, and that’s when she turned her hobby into a career. 

When she’s not writing crime novels she’s either reading them or going on long walks with her rescue pup Labrador, Dex.

Here’s a list of her books, Cruel Justice, Impeding Justice, Final Justice, Foul Justice, Guaranteed Justice, Ultimate Justice, Virtual Justice, Hostile Justice, Tortured Justice, Rough Justice, Dubious Justice, Calculated Justice, Twisted Justice, Prime Justice, Heroic Justice, Shameful Justice and Immoral Justice. There are several novellas and short stories in the series too.

No Right To Kill, Killer Blow, The Dead Can’t Speak and Deluded in the DI Sara Ramsey series. 

Her other successful series are: The DI Sally Parker thriller series, which includes WRONG PLACE, NO HIDING PLACE, COLD CASE, Deadly encounter and Lost Innocence

The DI Kayli Bright Trilogy – The Missing Children, Killer on the Run, Hidden Agenda, Murderous Betrayal and Dying Breath. 


There are three books in the Intention series, Sole Intention, Grave Intention and Devious Intention.

Plus a couple of standalone novels – EVIL IN DISGUISE and FOREVER WATCHING YOU.

As well as co-authoring the Deception Series co-authored by fellow NY Times bestselling author, Linda S Prather Clever Deception, Tragic Deception and Sinful Deception.

If you’d like to keep up to date with new releases you can find me on Facebook by following this link or sign up for my newsletter

If you fancy a lighter read, why not try one of my romances: A Time to Heal, and A Time for Change–Based on a TRUE story. I also have a selection of short stories and novelettes available which I know you’ll enjoy.

You can find out more about me at the following blogs.

Published by


I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.