Escape to Giddywell Grange by Kim Nash @KimTheBookworm

About this book…

Maddy Young thought she had it all. Swanky city apartment? – yep. Fancy car? sorted. High-flying career? – tick.

Even if she’s lost most of her friends because of spending all her time at work, and can’t remember when she last had fun, it’s worth it.

Until she’s suddenly made redundant. Now she’s 37, jobless, and after the breakup with the former love of her life, unhappily single.

Enter Maddy’s childhood friend, Beth, the owner of Growlers, the doggy daycare centre at Giddywell Grange, on a mission to make Maddy see there’s more to life than work.

Soon, Maddy is swapping spreadsheets for volunteer duty at the library and her Prada handbag for doggy poo bags… And with Beth’s gorgeous brother, Alex, back from the States, Maddy starts to think that Giddywell might just be her happy place.

But when her old life – and her old boyfriend – comes calling, will Maddy go back to the job she loved so much? Or will she discover that the key to happiness lies in making others happy? 

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.

My review…

I adored the debut novel, Amazing Grace, by Kim Nash but I absolutely bloody loved Escape To Giddywell Grange! This book was everything I wanted to read in my women’s fiction-it was emotional but uplifting with a heroine who was likeable and relatable…even if she was a little slow to catch on at times! Maddy was a joy to watch as she gradually started to realise that the things in her life that were the most important to her actually weren’t! When she loses her job and has to go back to her hometown, taking employment that is very far from the career she has been immersed in, Maddy has to totally reevaluate her life. And I loved watching how her relationships with family and friends developed especially the mother/daughter bond that had sadly been neglected for far too long.

I had tears in my eyes as I read the epilogue. Sad because this wonderfully uplifting book had finished but happy that Kim Nash had brought together such a beautifully written novel that really understands the “modern” family. Family, friends, dogs and the occasional G&T…what more could you ask for?! Kim Nash is now on my “must read” author list. Her books are highly enjoyable and I defy you to read them without losing yourself in them totally. I love them!

Meet the author…

Kim Nash lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter Roni, is PR & Social Media Manager for Bookouture and is a book blogger at http://www.kimthebookworm.co.uk.  

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA.  

When she’s not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog, reading, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs.  

Amazing Grace was her debut novel with Hera Books and came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and was published on September 18th 2019.  

You can read Kim’s Book Blog here: http://www.kimthebookworm.co.uk

Connect with Kim on Social Media here:
Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/
Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “Escape to Giddywell Grange by Kim Nash @KimTheBookworm”

Comments are closed.