The Other You by J.S. Monroe #blogtour @JSThrillers

Today I’m delighted to be on the blog tour for The Other You by J.S. Monroe. Many thanks to the publisher Head of Zeus for the invite onto the tour and my review copy of the book.

What’s this book about?

Is he who you think he is? 

Kate used to be good at recognising people. So good, she worked for the police, identifying criminals in crowds of thousands. But six months ago, a devastating car accident led to a brain injury. Now the woman who never forgot a face can barely recognise herself in the mirror. 

At least she has Rob. Kate met him just after her accident, and he nursed her back to health in his high-tech modernist house on the Cornish coast. When she’s with him, the nightmares of the accident fade, and she feels safe and loved. 

Until, one day, she looks at Rob anew – and knows, with absolute certainty, that he has been replaced by an impostor. Is she right? Have her old recognition skills returned? Or is it all in her damaged mind? 

This intricate, original and emotionally charged psychological thriller is perfect for fans of J.P. Delaney and Louise Candlish.

Why did I think?

What did I think?!? WHAT DID I THINK?!? I thought this book was absolutely bloody brilliant and that the books of 2020 have A LOT to live up to. I’ve been told before that readers of my reviews can tell how much I love a book by the amount of exclamation marks and capital letters I use so be prepared for quite a few here! I loved this book so much that as soon as I finished those unexpected and brilliantly written last few pages, the first thing I did was to go onto Amazon to order his other books. I just love it when you find an author who’s writing style you gel with straight away and the feeling you get when you know they have more books for you to discover!! Anyway, back to why I loved The Other You so much!

What drew me initially to The Other You was the premise of Kate being a super recogniser. I find the idea completely fascinating after having read a book previously covering the same subject, so much so that I took a test and found out that I’m also a super recogniser (please send all well paid job offers to my email address!!!) But unfortunately Kate was involved in a serious car accident that has wiped her super ability. Then one day she looks at her partner Rob and is convinced that it’s no longer her boyfriend! Does Rob have a doppelgänger or is Kate suffering from complex side effects from her accident? With the help of her best friend, her ex boyfriend and the police officer she previously worked with, Kate is thrown into a world where she no longer knows who to trust.

The tension throughout this book kept me awake until the wee small hours of the morning as I just refused to put it down! Once all the threads started to pull together, there were plenty of shocks in store for all of our characters and they all played their part helping Kate work out why she was being targeted. Jake was a favourite character for me personally, I just loved his determination and quiet devotion to his ex. The narrative divides itself between Kate, Jake and Silas the police officer who has his own problems that add to the mix as well and who’s a character I wouldn’t mind meeting again at some point in the future.

The Other You is a great read, an original and gripping thriller with its themes of identity, obsession and self deception. It’s a lengthy book at nearly 500 pages long but not once did the suspense let up or the narrative drag at all and I loved every single minute that it was in my hands!

Highly recommended by me!

Who’s the author?

J.S. Monroe read English at Cambridge, worked as a foreign correspondent in Delhi, and was Weekend editor of the Daily Telegraph in London before becoming a full-time writer. His psychological thriller Find Mebecame a bestseller in 2017, and, under the name Jon Stock, he is also the author of five spy thrillers. He lives in Wiltshire, with his wife and children.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

4 thoughts on “The Other You by J.S. Monroe #blogtour @JSThrillers”

Comments are closed.