Little White Lies by Philippa East #blogtour @HQStories

Today I’m delighted to be on the blog tour for Little White Lies by Philippa East. Thank to HQ for the review copy of the book.

What’s this book about?

She only looked away for a second…

Anne White only looked away for a second, but that’s all it took to lose sight of her young daughter.

But seven years later, Abigail is found.

And as Anne struggles to connect with her teenage daughter, she begins to question how much Abigail remembers about the day she disappeared…

Addictive, edge-of-your-seat dark women’s fiction perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, BCC drama Thirteen, and Emma Donoghue’s Room

My review

Little White Lies is a superb debut novel that crackles with an emotional suspense that builds to such a crescendo, you will be desperately uncover “the secret” that lies at its heart.

Anne White has just had the phone call that she never thought she would get. Her daughter Abigail, who was lost 7 years ago at the age of 8, has been found alive after she walked into a police station with another child. Anne is overjoyed as she thought her child was dead but when Abigail returns home, things become very difficult for the whole family as Abigail struggles to readjust to the life she lived before. And when an arrest is made in the case of Abigails abduction, the secrets and lies that have lain dormant for 7 years start to bob to the surface.

Philippa East has written a slow burning family drama with an intriguing plot line at its heart. Abigail isn’t the same child who disappeared all those years ago. She has been damaged both physically and psychologically and struggles to become the daughter she knows her family want her to be. Her cousin Jess relates part of narrative to us and I do have to say that at times I struggled to remember who was talking as both Jess and Anna had a very similar “voice”. A similar age to Abigail, the girls were once very close indeed but they are now living parallel lives. As the storyline builds towards revealing what actually happened the day that Abigail disappears, it’s Jess who struggles the most to accept that that relationship they had has gone.

Little White Lies is an intense read that can be uncomfortable at times although nothing is ever explicitly explored. I felt empathy for everyone involved in this devastating case and that didn’t change even after the big reveal although I felt that the storyline never became as emotionally charged as I expected it too. Philippa East writes beautifully and I think she has a hugely successful writing career ahead of her.

Little White Lies is out on 6th February 2020.

Meet the author

Philippa East works as a Clinical Psychologist and therapist. She lives in Lincolnshire with her husband and cat. Philippa’s prize-winning short stories have been published in various literary journals and Little White Lies is her debut novel.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.