The Silent House by Nell Pattison #blogtourreview #thesilenthouse @Writer_Nell

Today I’m delighted to be reviewing The Silent House by Nell Pattison which was published by Avon on 5th March.

If someone was in your house, you’d know … Wouldn’t you?

But the Hunter family are deaf, and don’t hear a thing when a shocking crime takes place in the middle of the night. Instead, they wake up to their worst nightmare: the murder of their daughter.

The police call Paige Northwood to the scene to interpret for the witnesses. They’re in shock, but Paige senses the Hunters are hiding something.

One by one, people from Paige’s community start to fall under suspicion. But who would kill a little girl?

Was it an intruder?

Or was the murderer closer to home?

What a wonderfully assured and atmospheric debut novel by Nell Pattison! I really enjoyed not only the unique premise of an interpreter for the deaf being involved in solving the crime at the centre of this gripping narrative but also the stylish way in which the story itself is told.

When the body of a young girl is discovered by her family, the deaf community are shocked by such an horrific crime. Paige Northwood is brought in as an interpreter as both parents are deaf, as well as other suspects, and so Paige is drawn much deeper into the case than she ever expected to be. And as she becomes more involved, her own life is put at risk as well as those closest to her.

I loved not being able to guess who was responsible for little Lexi’s Murder or why she was killed. There were plenty of suspects to quiz along the way for Paige and I really took to this feisty, intelligent woman with the sad past. As a character she worked really well and came across as knowledgeable and passionate about the community she was involved with. It’s obvious that the author really knows her stuff and was determined to create a character who could access a unique viewpoint on this heinous crime. I really liked her!

The Silent House is recommended for fans of Cara Hunter and I do think that if you enjoy her books then you will enjoy this one. I’m not sure if this is going to be a series as I’m not sure how it would work but Paige Northwood is definitely a character I’d like to find out more about. So if you’re looking for a different perspective in your crime thrillers then The Silent House could be right up your street.

After studying English at university, Nell Pattison became a teacher and specialised in Deaf education. She has been teaching in the Deaf community for 12 years in both England and Scotland, working with students who use BSL. Nell began losing her hearing in her twenties, but still refuses to wear her hearing aids. She lives in North Lincolnshire with her husband and child. The Silent House is her debut novel.

And follow the rest of the tour by making sure you check out the other bloggers still to come…

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

3 thoughts on “The Silent House by Nell Pattison #blogtourreview #thesilenthouse @Writer_Nell”

Comments are closed.