One White Lie by Leah Konen

Today I am sharing my review of One White Lie as part of the blog tour. Many thanks to Sriya Varadarajan for my blog tour invite and review copy of the book.

2020’S MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER with twists you’ll never see coming, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Rachel Caine and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door

Imagine you’ve finally escaped the worst relationship of your life.

Imagine your new next-door neighbours are the friends you so desperately needed.

Imagine they’re in trouble. That someone is threatening their livelihoods – and even their lives.

Imagine your ex is coming for you.

If you just needed to tell one small lie to make all these problems disappear, you’d do it . . . wouldn’t you?

It’s only one small lie, until someone turns up dead .

Lucy is on the run from her abusive Ex and has moved to a gorgeous little house in Woodstock, New York with her dog Dusty (my favourite character in One White Lie I have to admit!). She’s charmed by her new next door neighbours John and Vera, even though she is warned off them by others who know them. When she gets drawn into their plans for a “Van Gogh” things start to go wrong for all of them very quickly indeed…

One White Lie is published in the US under the title All The Broken People and when both titles are taken together you get a pretty good feel for what’s coming here! It’s a slow burning storyline, taking the time to build up the atmosphere and the characteristics that come together to make that perfect storm of a gripping read. None of the characters are particularly likeable and I didn’t trust a single one of them (again apart from Dusty the dog!) but I became intrigued quite early on as to what had happened previously to Lucy and how it was impacting on her relationship with others. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes and from about half way through the action starts to speed up a little as it heads towards an unexpectedly poignant ending.

One White Lie will appeal to you if you’re a fan of Samantha Downing as it reminded me of the books that I’ve read by her. It’s an enjoyable read that will keep you guessing until that very last page.


Leah Konen
is an author of young adult fiction, and One White Lie is her debut psychological thriller. As a journalist, her work has been published in Elle Decor, Metropolitan Home, Fiscal Times, Parenting, Good Housekeeping’s Quick and Simple and Huffington Post, among others. She lives in Brooklyn and Saugerties, NY, with her husband and their dog, Farley.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.