Blurred Lines by Hannah Begbie @RandomTTours

It’s a privilege today to be on the blog tour for Blurred Lines by Hannah Begbie. Many thanks to Anne Cater for my blog tour invite and review copy of the book.

A compulsive, literary domestic suspense set to spark debate.
When Becky accidently sees her boss with a woman who isn’t his wife, she’s horrified but keeps her counsel – she owes Matthew so much for all he’s done for her career. But when the same woman accuses him of rape and asks for the witness to come forward, Becky doesn’t know what to do.
Was what she saw rape? Or is this a young actress looking to get ahead? And can Becky separate her own traumatic past from the present?
As Becky attempts to untangle these blurred lines, she must risk everything to find the truth…
Blurred Lines is a brilliantly written novel that explores the effects of #metoo, and questions identity, womanhood, and how trauma is dealt with.
Perfect for fans of Doctor Foster, Apple Tree Yard, The Couple Next Door and Blood Orange.

When Becky walks in on her boss and another woman, who isn’t his wife, in a comprising position she quickly leaves before he sees her. But the woman got a glimpse of Becky before she disappeared and now she’s asking for that witness to come forward because that act she witnessed wasn’t consensual…

This is an incredibly powerful book, honestly written and difficult to read at times. The themes of rape, consent and the echos of the “me too” movement mean that the narrative is very dark, angry and traumatic plus it will make you feel very uncomfortable at times. But it’s so important that you DO feel like that as you need that feeling to understand the emotions flowing through Becky, disturbing her thought and decision making processes.

Everything is handled well here even the descriptions of what happened to Becky, as the author manages to convey the horror of her past perfectly with the emotions Becky experiences. These “he said/she said” experiences show how people see what they want to see and believe what they want to believe. It’s a terrifying thing to do “the right thing” and many people don’t get involved for a multitude of reasons mostly to do with themselves and not others. But our society is changing and attitudes are changing and this book delivers a well written and thought provoking storyline that was always going to divide its readers.

Hannah Begbie has given us her all here with this breathtaking plotline. I loved her writing in Mother and I have to say that I love it even more here! Engaging and exciting, she’s a writer who needs to be on your radar.


Hannah Begbie studied Art History at Cambridge University. She went on to become a talent agent, representing BAFTA and Edinburgh Comedy Award-winning writers and comedians for fifteen years. She also enrolled in The Novel Studio course at City University, winning that year’s new writing prize. The book she developed there became her debut novel, MOTHER, which later went on to win the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers from the RNA. The TV rights were snapped up by Clerkenwell Films (Lovesick, Misfits) after a heated auction, with screenwriter Tom Edge (The Crown, Judy) attached.
She lives in north London with her husband and their two sons.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

One thought on “Blurred Lines by Hannah Begbie @RandomTTours”

Comments are closed.