I Lie In Wait by Amanda Brittany


It’s one year since her sister vanished. Now, another girl is missing…

One year ago, Amelia Taylor’s sister, Lark, vanished without a trace from a family holiday in the Scottish Highlands.

The police are convinced that Lark was abducted, but with no new leads, the case has gone cold. Amelia is certain that the answer lies at the holiday cottage and retracing their steps might unearth a vital clue that could help make a breakthrough.

But during their second night at the cottage a shrill scream cuts through the darkness, just as it did a year ago, and a sense of dread engulfs everyone.

Another girl has vanished.

Leading the search, Amelia is convinced that both girls are alive, waiting to be found. But someone is determined to keep her from the truth at all costs

Will Amelia be able to find her sister, or is she too about to find herself in danger?

Oh I really enjoyed this one and couldn’t put it down! What on earth had happened to Lark and was her stepfather, who disappeared at the same time, to blame? Her sister Amelia is heading back to the scene of the crime with her father, brother and his carer to search for clues on the anniversary of her suspected abduction. I was convinced that I knew EXACTLY what had happened to Lark but sadly I was so far away from the shocking truth that I’m ashamed to call myself a crime fiction fan!

Told in two timelines from a year ago and the present day, I Lie in Wait gradually introduces the suspects from the previous years devastation and then reintroduces them in the present day. Sadly, Lark and Amelias mother has since passed away without knowing the fate of her youngest child so it’s an extra difficult return to the beautiful Scottish Highlands for her family and friends as the memories return. But present day events start to overtake Larks abduction when another girl goes missing and it becomes clear that a murderer is on the loose…

I Lie in Wait is a twisty, edge of your seat thriller that had me hooked from the opening prologue. The themes of family and loss are unexpectedly poignant for a psychological thriller and I found the descriptions of Amelias relationships with the various members of her family very realistic and often moving. I loved searching both timelines (and that of a third narrative!) for clues as to what happened to Lark as everyone seemed to be hiding some very dark secrets of their own! I found it a very “visually” told book and could see the snowy highlands and the cottages where they were staying quite clearly in my mind which made me conclude that this storyline would transfer perfectly into a tv drama. I’d love to see it played out on the small screen-the creepy masks especially would make for some great scary moments for the audience to jump out of their skins!!

Fans of CL Taylor and Ruth Ware should hopefully have discovered Amanda Brittany by now but if not treat yourself to I Lie In Wait. I’ve enjoyed all her books in the past but this one is definitely top of my favourites now!

Amanda Brittany is the best selling author of psychological crime thrillers HER LAST LIE, TELL THE TRUTH & TRACES OF HER.

I LIE IN WAIT is out in August 2020

Her debut, HER LAST LIE is being made into a film supported by Creative Scotland, and has so far raised over £8000 for Cancer Research UK from eBook royalties.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.