Innocent by Erin Kinsley @RandomTTours

I’m delighted to be part of the blog tour today for Innocent by Erin Kinsley. Many thanks to Anne Cater for my blog tour invite and to Headline for my review copy of the book.

A MURDER TEARS A SMALL TOWN APART. BUT WHO DID IT?

‘Brilliant, compelling, heart-wrenching writing.’
PETER JAMES

The pretty market town of Sterndale is a close-knit community where everyone thinks they know everyone else. But at a lavish summer wedding a local celebrity is discovered slumped in the gardens, the victim of a violent assault that leads to a murder investigation.

As the police search for answers, suspicion and paranoia build – and the lives of the locals are turned upside down. Secrets that lurk beneath the pristine façade of Sterndale come to light as detectives close in on the truth…

A gripping and moving thriller with the emotional drama of series like BROADCHURCH and LIAR this is the perfect read for fans of Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks and Claire Douglas.

I loved Found by Erin Kinsley last year and so was really keen to read Innocent! I love the emotions that this author brings to her writing and by the end of Innocent my heart was breaking! The final few pages were just so full of feeling that tears were rolling down my face as I read slower and slower so as not to end the experience. And I’m so glad that I stuck with it as at the beginning I actually struggled and had thoughts of abandoning it! So if you feel the same then please don’t worry, persevere and it will all be worth it.

One of the reasons I struggled at the beginning of Innocent was the amount of characters that we are introduced to. The main focus is Tristan, Izzy and their daughter Flora who are attending a local wedding. Tristan is the local celebrity in this market town and is well known and well loved. But maybe not, as after Tristan disappears at the wedding party, he is found unconscious after an attempt on his life. What follows is a gripping crime thriller with lots of suspects who all have a connection to Tristan and may not be as fond of him as they appear. The police investigation was my favourite part as I loved the relationships between the individual police officers and how they worked together to get their result-good old fashioned police work and no last minute revelations with an “out there” motive…the clues are there for us all to follow. That’s not to say there aren’t a few red herrings along the way though!

Innocent is a intricately plotted, moving crime story that felt like it could happen to anyone. The market town where it was set reminded me of a market town very near to where I live and I felt connected to the neighbourhood and the community who lived there. The small town mentality stood out for me as the gossip wagons rolled out following the attack on Tristan and the following investigation. So yes there are a lot of characters at the start to get used to but that’s what happens in a busy town.

After a wobbly start, I ended up not being able to put this book down until I found out what had really happened to Tristan that night and why. So definitely recommend this one if you like your crime to be a little more distinctive. Enjoy!

Erin Kinsley is a full-time writer. She grew up in Yorkshire and currently lives in East Anglia.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “Innocent by Erin Kinsley @RandomTTours”

Comments are closed.