The Wife by Shalini Boland @bookouture

I’m delighted to be on the blog tour for The Wife by Shalini Boland with a review. Many thanks to Sarah Hardy for inviting me onto the tour and my review copy of the book.

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what…

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoewas sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband.

Then, there was a blank.

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterwards. Did something happen in that missing time?

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their ten-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married.

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. Zoe catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all.

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth, if it will destroy everything?

From the million-copy bestselling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked from the first page to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girland The Wife Between Us.

Shalini Boland has done it again! Her books always have me on the edge of my seat, desperately seeking answers to the questions posed by her gripping storyline. The Wife starts off with a wedding-how lovely I hear you say! But there’s something a little off about what should be the happiest day of Zoe and Tobys life. Zoe has fainted and when she comes to, she feels very strange but thankfully the wedding goes ahead with no further incidents. Ten years and 2 children later, a party has been planned to celebrate their wedding anniversary at the same posh hotel but everything seems to be going wrong and the secrets of the past may just be about to resurface…

This is one of those books that will drive you completely mad as you try to work out what happened on that fateful day. Zoe was a rather “needy” character and I didn’t gel with her to begin with. Was it because I felt she was an unreliable narrator or because she seemed very naive? I know that I would have been asking fat more questions than she was and demanding those answers!!! It certainly made me suspect every single possibility as to why everyone seemed to be avoiding her and the wedding day incident and I was very nearly completely right but not quite! But it was so much fun getting to those shocking twists that I forgave all those red herrings and just settled in for a gripping plotline and untrustworthy characters who all seemed to have their own agendas…

This is a great psychological thriller, full of gasp-inducing twists and wonderfully wicked and deliciously gossipy developments that keep you turning those pages. I devoured it in a matter of hours. Fabulous!

Shalini Boland is the million-copy, USA-Today bestselling author of psychological thrillers: ‘THE GIRL FROM THE SEA’, ‘THE BEST FRIEND’, ‘THE MILLIONAIRE’S WIFE’ (optioned for TV by Legendary Studios), ‘THE SECRET MOTHER’, ‘THE CHILD NEXT DOOR’, ‘THE SILENT SISTER’, ‘THE PERFECT FAMILY’, ‘THE MARRIAGE BETRAYAL’, ‘THE OTHER DAUGHTER’ and ‘ONE OF US IS LYING’.

THE WIFE is out now!

Her titles are published by Bookouture, Grand Central (USA), and Tantor.

Shalini lives by the sea in Dorset, England with her husband, two children and their cheeky terrier cross. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer/songwriter, but now she spends her days writing psychological thrillers (in between school runs and sorting endless baskets of laundry).

Be the first to hear about her new releases here: http://eepurl.com/b4vb45

She is also the author of two bestselling Young Adult series as well as an atmospheric WWII novel with a time-travel twist.

http://www.facebook.com/ShaliniBolandAuthor
http://www.shaliniboland.co.uk
https://twitter.com/ShaliniBoland

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

One thought on “The Wife by Shalini Boland @bookouture”

Comments are closed.