Coming Home to Hope Street by Marcie Steele

I’m delighted to be kicking off the blog tour today for book 2 in the Hope Street series by Marcie Steele. Many thanks to Sarah Hardy for organising the tour and my review copy of the book.

Step across the cobblestones, pull back the curtains and peek behind the doors in the second instalment of The Hope Street Series. Catch up with old friends and fall in love with new ones in a story of friendship, second chances and new beginnings.

Livvy has no choice but to return to Hope Street, the childhood home she left over twenty years ago. Along with her sixteen-year-old daughter, Pip, she turns up on the doorstep, hoping for forgiveness from her sister.

Hannah thought she’d never see Livvy again. She’s overwhelmed with emotion but locks away her real feelings. How could Livvy stay away without any contact? And why has she come back now?

It isn’t long before the charm of the market town of Somerley begins to work its magic. Hannah is opening a book shop in the square, adjoining The Coffee Stop, and Livvy’s offer to help out brings the sisters closer together.

But when someone from Livvy’s past arrives unannounced too, he threatens everything she’s built up since her return. Can Livvy convince her sister, and her new friends, that her intentions to return were good ones? Or will her dreams of settling down and being happy again become nothing but a closed book?  

If you love an uplifting story, then Coming Home to Hope Street is the perfect feel-good read to curl up with. Ideal for fans of Hannah Ellis, Holly Martin and Emily Harvale.

Having read and loved the first book in this new series, it was a given that I would want to read Coming Home to Hope Street! And it was lovely to be back in Somerley again! I adored the previous Somerley series so once again I felt at home in the town that I got to know so well previously and as the characters passed local landmarks memories came flooding back.

Hannah and Doug from the previous book play an integral part of the storyline here as it’s Hannah’s sister Livvy who returns home to Hope Street after 20 years away. The reason she left becomes clear quite early on but her life away from the street hasn’t been the dream life she was expecting. Still, it’s a difficult decision to go back (alongside her 15 year old daughter Pip) and the relationship between the sisters is strained but can it get back to the close family bond they used to share?

This is a realistically portrayed neighbourhood and one I love going back to. I didn’t take to Livvy to begin with as I was a little shocked at the reason for her initial departure! But she was young so I did come to understand her decision even if I didn’t agree with it! Pip I DID like though although once again I found her immaturity influenced her decisions in the same way it had for her mother 20 years before.

Coming Home to Hope Street was a deliciously delightful experience throughout! Heartwarming and emotional it’s a hug in a book-and we all need one of those this year!

Hi, I’m Marcie Steele and I write down-to-earth stories about day-to-day people. 

I’ve written three novels in The Somerley Series and I’ve started a new series, the first book, The Man Across the Street, out now. The second book, Coming Home to Hope Street, will be published in September 2020. 

The series will be in six parts, featuring a main story per book from each of the six characters. Why not take a walk along Hope Street and fall in love with the women, the street and the sense of camaraderie?

My books have sold over 300,000 copies. 

Coffee, cake and friendship are three of my favourite things. You’ll always find me writing in a cafe, people watching

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “Coming Home to Hope Street by Marcie Steele”

Comments are closed.