The Housewarming by S.E. Lynes @bookouture @SELynesAuthor

It’s a great pleasure to be involved in the blog tour today for the latest book by one of my favourite authors. The Housewarming by S. E. Lynes is out now and published by Bookouture. A huge thanks must go to Noelle Holten for my blog tour invite and review copy of the book.

Everyone is going to the housewarming party.
All the same people who lived on the street the day Abi vanished…
Will her mother finally learn the truth?

Ava only left her daughter in the pushchair for five minutes. The buckle was fastened, and she was sure it was safe. But when she came downstairs, the door was open and Abi was gone – she walked down the road, past the Lovegoods’ house, and was never seen again.

A year later, the Lovegoods are planning their long-anticipated housewarming party. Ava doesn’t want to go. She can’t bear to look down that end of the road, to see the place where Abi vanished, and she doesn’t want to spend time with people who don’t share her grief. Her husband Matt persuades her: he’s worried about her. A night out might do her good.

But as her friends and neighbours chat, and the drink and gossip flows, Ava learns something new about the day she has re-lived a thousand times. A throwaway comment which could change everything.

Ava thought she knew every last detail of that day.

She’s about to find out she was wrong…

Brilliantly dark and moving suspense fiction for fans of Gillian Flynn, Claire McGowan and Lisa Jewell, The Housewarming will have your pulse racing and your heart in your mouth from start to finish.

The Housewarming is a brilliant psychological thriller that has left me absolutely gobsmacked! And I have no idea how I’m going to do it justice in a review so I just want to say “BUY THIS BOOK AND YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!”

S.E. Lynes has a talent for building her books on the emotions of her well drawn characters but she has excelled herself here with a storyline that really didn’t go the way I was expecting it to! I thought I knew EXACTLY what had happened to Abi, the little girl who disappeared out of her front door and was never seen again, but I was so far from the truth that it’s embarrassing!

The Housewarming refers to a party given by the Lovegoods who live next door to Matt and Ava. It’s been over a year since Ava went upstairs, only to find her daughter gone when she came back down. The police have scaled down their search for the little girl but a chance comment at the party thrown by their new neighbours is about to light the fuse on an explosive revelation that will affect everything Ava believed to be true…

This is a beautifully written, expressive book that gave me goosebumps many times throughout its tense narrative. I actually felt quite intrusive at times, as though I were a fly on the wall, listening to private conversations that weren’t meant for my ears. The grief and guilt that emanated from Ava especially, but also other characters, often felt too painful and uncomfortable to acknowledge, leaving an underlying awkwardness where I often wanted to put this book down so that I felt that same ignorance. Never actually knowing what has happened to your child must be so much worse than the truth, as the brain seems programmed to imagine the most painful and horrific scenarios all of which must far outweigh the reality. And Matt and Ava have very different coping strategies for their grief which is tearing them apart as a couple-a very common problem as very few couples who have suffered the unexplained disappearance of a child stay together in the long term. It’s an understandable problem but with Matt and Ava their characters were so perfectly attuned that I felt so terribly sad at the loss of their closeness and that’s down to the brilliance of the writing here as they were brought alive so well by the insightful exploration of their relationship.

I loved The Housewarming. It was compelling reading from start to finish with a stunning and beautifully crafted ending that brought me to tears. And it’s probably up there with my favourite S.E. Lynes book Valentina so that shows you how highly I rate The Housewarming! So buy both! You can thank me later!

Former BBC Producer, S.E. Lynes is the Amazon best selling author of ‘intelligent and haunting’, ‘beautifully written’ psychological thrillers, VALENTINA, MOTHER, THE PACT, THE PROPOSAL, THE WOMEN, THE LIES WE HIDE, CAN YOU SEE HER? and her latest novel, THE HOUSEWARMING, available for pre-order NOW.

After completing her MA, Lynes taught creative writing at Richmond Adult Community College for over ten years. She now combines writing, mentoring and lecturing.

She has also published three children’s books in Italy: IL LEOPARDO LAMPO, LA COCCODRILLA INGAMBA, and the bilingual LA SCIMMIA SPIRITOSA/THE FUNNY MONKEY, all available at Amazon.it

Author Social Media Links: 

Facebook: S E Lynes Author
Twitter: @SELynesAuthor
Instagram: @S E Lynes Author

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “The Housewarming by S.E. Lynes @bookouture @SELynesAuthor”

Comments are closed.