Time is Running Out by Michael Wood @MichaelHWood #timeisrunningout


You’re a survivor, aren’t you, Matilda? But what’s the point in surviving when everyone around you is dead?

When DCI Matilda Darke receives a mysterious telephone call, she immediately dismisses the threat. Afterall the Homicide and Major Enquiries team are a regular target for prank calls.

But ignoring this warning might soon be the biggest regret of Matilda Darke’s life.

A lone gunman is on a deadly rampage around Sheffield, leaving a bloody trail in his wake. Taking his shots with a sickening precision, he’s about to leave his mark on the world and change Matilda and her team’s lives forever.

The next chilling instalment in the DCI Matilda Darke thriller series, perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

I’ve been so excited for the publication of the latest in the Matilda Darke series! This is book seven and I’ve been there since book one as it’s one of my very favourite crime thriller series and I adore Matilda! But this book…it’s like the past six books have been the stepping stones to this shocking, often disturbing and definitely distressing storyline.

If you haven’t read any of the previous Matilda Darke books then I would say that this is probably not the best book to start your reading relationship with her-you won’t get the most from it as you won’t know the backstories of the characters which you definitely need here. What starts as an ordinary day takes a sinister turn when DCI Matilda Darke receives a strange phone call. And when she ventures outside after a fire alarm is set off, she recognises that something doesn’t feel quite right. The day that follows will deliver challenges, loss and bravery…and lots of tears from this reader! I was a broken woman by the end of this one!

Time is Running Out totally blew me away. It had a gripping storyline full of twists and turns with some very shocking moments that left me gasping out loud! It certainly didn’t do my high blood pressure any good! There was one point in the narrative where I was like “WHAT?! What did I just read?!?!” It certainly packed an emotional punch and became a book that I couldn’t put down until I knew exactly what was going on and how it would all end.

This was never going to be an easy read due to the subject matter but the atmosphere throughout was almost tangible in its intensity. I know that the author wrote it during lockdown and I felt that this gave the book a claustrophobic edge and an endurance that was oppressive and incredibly disturbing. I raced though the pages desperately needing some sort of positive conclusion to a situation that was never going to end well but even so, I did NOT expect the developments that raised their ugly heads. Michael Wood took his characters, made them exist outside the pages of his book and created a commitment to them that I rarely see in the police procedural genre. I wanted to help them, comfort them and make everything right-back to those heady days of where the most difficult choice they made each day was what type of chocolate bar to choose from Sian’s snack drawer.

Time is Running is shocking, heartbreaking and completely unexpected in the way in which it played with the readers emotions. It’s such a clever book, unsettling but somehow it’s also a positive way in which to externalise those fears that have built up during time apart from our loved ones. A tough read but well worth it! So if you have never read a book by Michael Wood and fancy starting at book one (in a series that I promise you will just keep on giving!) then buy and read it now. And if you’ve been following Matilda already then you need Time Is Running Out in your life NOW!

Michael Wood is the pen name (he can’t spell soo-da-nim) for Sheffield based crime writer, Michael Wood. As of 2019 he has written four novels and one prequel novella in the DCI Matilda Darke thriller series which is set in his home city of Sheffield. He is currently writing the fifth and also has other projects up the sleeves of his duffel coat. When he’s not writing, he’s usually moaning about having little sleep and talking about his favourite biscuit on social media. He’s a massive fan of reading crime fiction as he likes to keep an eye on the competition and wondering if he can steal any of their ideas, give the characters a Sheffield accent, and pass them off as his own original creation. For more information you can find him on the book of faces and the one with the blue bird.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.