Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove by Kim Nash

I’m delighted to be sharing my review today of Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove by Kim Nash. Thanks to Rachel Gilbey for my blog tour invite and review copy of the book.

When thirty-four-year-old Nellie Wagstaff loses her job and discovers her fiancé is a cheating scumbag in a single day, she feels like the world has come crashing down. And that’s before the solicitor’s letter, along with a request to visit a place she hasn’t thought about for a very long time.

Heartbroken, Nellie escapes to the beautiful seaside town of Muddleford in Dorset, where she discovers she’s inherited more than she ever bargained for. Nellie never knew why her mother stopped talking to her sister, but now childhood memories of Muddleford come flooding back: long hot summers, the sea glistening beyond the sandy cove… and a stolen kiss with a boy called Jack.

Jack, now a devilishly handsome vet, has the local pet owners swooning over him, and as Nellie and he become close once more, and she gets used to gossiping with the locals and sipping wine at her beach hut with sand between her toes, she’s sure she can feel sparks flying once more. But just as she thinks she might be able to open her heart again, her newest frenemy, the glamourous Natalia, tells her a secret about Jack that changes everything.

Nellie will never know why her mother and aunt parted ways. She’ll sell the house, forget about Jack, and get back to real life. Because there’s nothing for her in Muddleford… is there?

An utterly uplifting and completely hilarious summer read about learning to trust yourself and of finding love and friendship in the least expected places for fans of Jessica Redland, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin.

I can’t believe that this is Kim’s 4th book already! Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove is probably my favourite of her books so far and who wouldn’t want to read it after looking at that gorgeous cover! I fell in love very quickly with everything about this book-the setting, the characters (especially Norman ❤️) and the wonderfully engaging and uplifting storyline.

When Nell gets home after “one of those days” she faces an even worse evening ahead when her lying, cheating fiancé dumps her. But her luck changes when she receives an unexpected letter from a solicitor-a letter that takes her back to a place (and a certain person) that she hasn’t seen in years. But Nell knows she can’t turn back the clock and her regrets about the past need to be put to one side so she can decide what to do about her future…

This was such a lovely feel good read that took me away from the worries of everyday life into a seaside community that I would move to myself in a heartbeat! There should never have been a moment’s doubt for Nell that Muddleford was the place for her as she just seemed to “fit” there. Seaside romances are always much more memorable especially when they take place during those teenage years but Nell is a grown up now and her teen crush Jack has moved on (Jack may be “the boy next door” but he is now a vet and involved with the beautiful Natalia). Nell also had many questions about her family’s estrangement and I loved how Kim handled the emotions that it brought out in Nell.

Kim Nash manages to combine humour, romance and life changing decisions to deliver such emotionally engaging characters that I found myself believing were actually alive and living out their lives away from the fictional pages of her book. I spent a wonderfully restful afternoon curled up in an armchair with Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove-it was a real tonic and I think it should be available free on prescription from the NHS! I loved it that much!

.

Kim Nash is an author of uplifting, funny, heartwarming, feel-good, romantic fiction and has always wanted to write books since she was a little girl.

Her latest book is Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove.

Her book published in June 2020, Sunshine and Second Chances, was shortlisted for the 2020 Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award.

She lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter rescue dog Roni, is Head of Publicity for publisher Bookouture (part of Hachette UK) and is a book blogger at http://www.kimthebookworm.co.uk.  

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA as an author.

When she’s not working or writing, and in non-Covid times, Kim can be found walking her dog at Cannock Chase, reading, writing, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie, and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs and organises local and national reader/author events. 

Amazing Grace was her debut novel which came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and was published in September 2019.

Sunshine and Second Chances is Kim’s third novel and was published in June 2020.

Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove is her fourth book and was published in March 2021. 

Connect with Kim on Social Media here:
Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/
Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.