What to Buy in May? The House Guest by Charlotte Northedge #blogtour #thehouseguest @harperfictionpr @charnor

I’m delighted to be able to bring you my review of The House Guest today! Many thanks to Emily Goulding for my invite onto the tour and review copy of the book.


Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate.

Their downfall is each other.

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she’s in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as ‘the Janes.’

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della’s life – her house, her family, and her husband. It’s only when she realises that she’s in too deep that Della’s veneer begins to crumble, and the warnings from ‘the Janes’ begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

I have absolutely no doubt that this book will be making an appearance on my Best Books of 2020 list! I already have my hardback copy preordered and I highly recommend you do the same! The House Guest is MY KIND OF READ so if you love Louise Candlish, Sarah Vaughan, Sabine Durrant and similar authors then you’re going to love this.

This is one of those books that works better for you as a reader if you have very little idea of the plot and beyond what’s mentioned in the blurb above, I really don’t want to talk about the storyline as I’m so worried about giving any spoilers! I just want to tell you that this book kept me on the edge of my seat, desperately turning the pages as I followed Kates journey. I found Kate a frustrating character though, naive and rather immature at times but understood why she was portrayed this way. Della-well, I found her a very closed book and I never trust people like that either in fiction or in real life! I do love a toxic friendship though and these two women certainly had one of those but it’s not until the shocking conclusion that I realised just how distorted this relationship had become.

This is definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year and it’s one of my Hot Picks for May. Gripping, claustrophobic and shocking-I loved it!

Charlotte Northedge is joint Head of Books for the Guardian. She has previously written for a range of newspapers and magazines, including the Guardian, Psychologies and Cosmopolitan.

She has an MA in Modern and Contemporary Literature from Birkbeck and is an alumna of the Curtis Brown Creative writing course.

The House Guest is her first novel. You can find her on Twitter: @charnorth, on Instagram: charlotte_north and on her Facebook author page: @charlottenorthedgeauthor

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.