The Street Party by Claire Seeber @bookouture

The party was supposed to be the highlight of the summer. If only I’d known that night would destroy our lives…

 

All the neighbours were laughing, drinking out of plastic glasses and getting along. I almost felt happy. Almost forgot about the terrible argument earlier and the sinister messages I’d been receiving from a strange address all week, threatening to expose the lies behind my perfect life.

 

As we finished with the red and gold fireworks and welcomed everyone back to our house, I believed that everything would be okay.

 

But I didn’t know who I was inviting in.

 

I never could have imagined what would happen here, in our home, after I’d gone up to bed.

 

Everyone saw something different.

 

It’s my daughter’s word against the story the boy from down the road is telling. But how can I find out what really happened that night without everyone finding out the truth about me?

 

An absolutely gripping story of the secrets you would do anything to keep hidden, with a twist you just won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Big Little Lies and The Girl on the Train.

I’ve been a HUGE Claire Seeber fan since her brilliant debut novel and she is on my “auto buy” list! So I was desperate to read The Street Party! But OMG I did NOT expect the jaw dropping, brilliant storyline that exploded off the pages with an acutely accurate portrayal of women’s friendships and the lies they tell themselves and others…

To begin with I did find the lead up to The Street Party a bit confusing-why were these women friends? Three very different outlooks on life and parenting came together due to the sheer chance of living near each other. As they planned a local street party to raise funds, I gradually started to get to know them all but it really isn’t until the night of the party itself that this book becomes completely unputdownable. The party itself throws up lots of drama and the aftermath is both shocking and unexpected. It was this part of the storyline that grabbed me the most as it covered some very disturbing and topical issues that felt authentically portrayed and perfectly believable.

The Street Party is a compelling read that reminded me of Big Little Lies with its themes of domestic violence, addiction, sexual violence and betrayal. The difficulties that women face nowadays are often caused by other women-those we are in contact with due to being in the same place at the same time in our lives. The secrets and lies that are gradually uncovered in this domestic drama are convincing in their exposure and issues that come to a head felt organically crafted by Claire Seeber so as to deliver the maximum impact on the readers nerves! I raced through the last few pages so I could see if the characters got the fate that they deserved-and thankfully they did…well most of them anyway!

A gripping and unsettling read!

Claire Seeber is a Londoner who started professional life as a (bad) actress and became a documentary maker, a journalist and a writer of, so far, psychological thrillers. The Observer said of her first novel: ‘a disturbing debut’ whilst The Guardian called it ‘powerful’…she keeps writing whilst also studying psychology and (trying to) to manage a home of slightly feral kids and animals. Luckily she’s got a very nice partner to help too.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.