One Good Lie by Jane Isaac @damppebbles @canelo_co @JaneIsaacAuthor

Her sister’s boyfriend. Her worst nightmare.

On the night of her mother’s wake, Ewan kisses a shocked Ruby. They both agree to pretend that the kiss never happened – in fact, according to Ewan, no one even needs to know he walked Ruby home.

Because Ewan is seeing Ruby’s sister, Sophie. He’s been wonderful to Sophie, comforting her after her mother’s murder and taking care of her little kids, too. In short, he’s been the perfect boyfriend. This was just a stupid mistake.

But when Ruby learns of another woman’s murder close to Ewan’s route home on the night of the kiss, she fears that her lie has left her sister in terrible danger.

After all, how well do the sisters really know Ewan? How well do they know each other? And are they sure they know the truth about what really happened on the day their mother died?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Sue Watson , and Jackie Kabler.

This is a fabulous standalone thriller from Jane Isaacs that kept me guessing throughout. I’ve loved her crime series previously so I was thoroughly looking forward to this psychological thriller from Jane and I wasn’t disappointed!

Sophie and Ruby are both struggling to come to terms with their mothers murder but her killer is now behind bars and they want to celebrate their mums life at her wake. But Ruby gets herself into a bit of a state when her sister’s boyfriend walks her home from the wake after she’s had a few drinks. She is shocked when he kisses her but the next day she starts to wonder what she really knows about Ewan. And as she digs further into his life, she risks her relationship with the sister that she loves…and possibly her life.

There were so many red herrings here that my head was spinning! Lots of questions needed to be answered and none of the paths that my thoughts wandered down seemed to lead to the truth! Ewan appeared to be the perfect boyfriend and had been wonderful for Sophie and her two young children, who have all been so much happier since he came into their lives but Ruby is suspicious after a woman is discovered murdered not far from where Ewan kissed her especially when Sophie seemed unaware that Ewan was even out of the house! I loved Ruby who came across as a devoted sister and daughter just trying to protect her family but managing to alienate herself from them all with her obsession to discover the truth.

I loved One Good Lie and really hope that Jane Isaac will continue to write psychological thrillers in a similar vein. This was an addictive and gripping read that demanded “just one more chapter” every time I tried to put it down! Definitely worth a read but be warned that it’s a bit of a sleep-stealer!

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter and dogs. 

Jane is author of three bestselling detective series: DCI Helen Lavery, DI Will Jackman (based in Stratford upon Avon), and DC Beth Chamberlain (a Family Liaison Officer). Her novels have been nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards’ and selected as ‘Thriller of the Month’ by E-thriller.com.

2021 sees Jane’s first foray into psychological suspense with the release of One Good Lie in June. A further psychological suspense novel will follow in 2022, along with a new DCI Helen Lavery book.

Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. You can reach her via her website at http://www.janeisaac.co.uk where you can join her Readers’ Club for information on new releases

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “One Good Lie by Jane Isaac @damppebbles @canelo_co @JaneIsaacAuthor”

Comments are closed.