The Chateau by Catherine Cooper @RandomTTours

They thought it was perfect. They were wrong…

A glamorous chateau

Aura and Nick don’t talk about what happened in England. They’ve bought a chateau in France to make a fresh start, and their kids need them to stay together – whatever it costs.

A couple on the brink

The expat community is welcoming, but when a neighbour is murdered at a lavish party, Aura and Nick don’t know who to trust.

A secret that is bound to come out… 

Someone knows exactly why they really came to the chateau. And someone is going to give them what they deserve.

The Sunday Times bestseller is back with a rollercoaster read, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

Having read Catherine Coopers fabulous debut novel The Chalet, I was looking forward to returning to France to spend time at The Chateau-although this is one chateau that I really WOULD NOT like to stay in! When Nick and Aura move to France to escape their lives in the UK (and something else that we obviously aren’t introduced to until much later on!) they know that they have lots of work to do on both the beautiful old building they have bought-and their relationship. Meeting the locals and ex-pats is an eye opener for them but they start to settle into their new life until a Halloween party leads to the discovery of a body…

I DEVOURED The Chateau in a matter of hours-staying to late to finish this twisty, shocking thriller that constantly surprised and delighted me in equal measure! Divided into 3 parts, each part ends with a “WTAF?” moment as I found that I had been totally mislead by my own conclusions about what has happened and why! Honestly, I don’t think I’ve read another book this year that surprised as much as The Chateau did! Full of characters you will love to hate, I found myself feeling so sorry for Nick and Aura’s children (the wonderfully named Sorrel and Bay!) who are horribly scared by the weird happenings that take place shortly after the move to France. All of the adults seemed selfish or had hidden agendas that ignored the needs of these poor innocent children! I’m sure my blood pressure raised to an unacceptable level whilst reading The Chateau because I became so engaged and involved in the plot! And I love it when that happens-that an author can write a fictional world that drags me in so deeply I begin to believe it’s real!

The Chateau has a gripping storyline-Catherine Cooper has assembled her house of cards perfectly, all set up ready to be knocked to the ground by the powerful force of retribution but I do worry about how satisfied I felt when it fell! One of my favourite books of the year so far and highly recommended for an entertaining and unputdownable read!

Catherine Cooper is a freelance journalist living in the South of France with her family. Her debut thriller THE CHALET was a top five Sunday Times bestseller and spent three weeks in the Kindle top 100. THE CHATEAU is her second novel.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

One thought on “The Chateau by Catherine Cooper @RandomTTours”

Comments are closed.