The Girl at My Door by Rebecca Griffiths @bookouture @rebeccagriffit7 #thegirlatmydoor

Inspired by the true crime story of the Rillington Place murders comes a chilling, fictional re-telling of one of Britain’s most infamous serial killers.

Queenie Osbourne is the talk of London. Rising to fame as a singer after the Second World War, she is about to head to New York to make her fortune. 

On the surface John Reginald Christie is an ordinary man. By day he wanders the bustling city streets. By night he is entertained by Queenie and her band. He is always searching for prey. Soon a young waitress named Joy catches his eye and his dangerous obsession begins. 

Joy is preparing to wed Charles Gilchrist, one of the city’s most eligible bachelors. But Queenie has always held a flame for him and the spark between them is obvious. 

When Queenie commits the ultimate betrayal against Joy, she knows her bright future is at risk. With nowhere else to turn, there is only one man who can help her. But Queenie has no idea of the dark secrets which lie behind the door of 10 Rillington Place. As Christie watches her approaching, will he risk everything for his highest-profile victim yet? 

Blending the real-life story of notorious serial killer John Reginald Christie with a fictionalised cast of characters, this thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Louise Douglas and Jess Lourey.

It’s no secret that I’m huge fan of Rebecca Griffiths’ writing and that I feel her books deserve a bigger audience so I was absolutely thrilled when I heard she had signed up with one of my favourite publishers Bookouture! And her new publisher also marks the start of a slight change in direction for her with this creative take on a real life criminal and his heinous crimes. In The Girl At My Door she has woven a tense and atmospheric fictional narrative around the serial killer John Reginald Christie, with imagined scenarios and characters who have been created to cross the path of this vile monster.

From the very first sentence there was a sense of foreboding and, although I only knew the basics of the murders perpetrated by Christie before I read this book, whenever he was on the page he gave off a convincing realism that gave me goosebumps. I thought it was a brilliant idea to use him throughout this novel, silently stalking his potential victim and sharing in her personal tragedies as he looked for a way to indulge in his obsession. And when he finally becomes part of the chain of vicissitude, it has devastating consequences…

I can’t begin to tell you how much I loved this book. I became totally invested in the lives of Joy and Queenie as the friends unintentionally became the focus of attention for a man with no moral compass. The attention to detail is brilliant, both in the descriptions of the historical period it’s set in and the life of John Reginald Christie. The quality of the writing slowly draws you into this gripping thriller and it kept me on the edge of my seat as I waited to see how this dramatic chiller would play out and whether or not another victim would fall into the infamous rope chair.

Shocking, immersive and beautifully crafted, The Girl At My Door is a stunning book with unexpected twists and one of the creepiest portrayals of a serial killer I have ever read! I’ve also listened to the audiobook so if that’s your preferred reading choice then I have to say that you will be blown away by the narrators (I’ve never liked the word “moist” but after listening to the first 5 minutes of the male actor delivering Christie’s words, I never want to hear the word EVER AGAIN! )

Highly recommended by me!

Rebecca Griffiths grew up in mid-Wales and went on to gain a first class honours degree in English Literature. After a successful business career in London, Dublin and Scotland she returned to rural mid-Wales where she lives with her husband, a prolific artist, their four black rescue cats, two pet sheep the size of sofas and writes full time

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “The Girl at My Door by Rebecca Griffiths @bookouture @rebeccagriffit7 #thegirlatmydoor”

  1. Fab review x

    On Tue, 28 Sep 2021, 08:01 mychestnutreadingtree, wrote:

    > jorobertson2015 posted: ” Inspired by the true crime story of the > Rillington Place murders comes a chilling, fictional re-telling of one of > Britain’s most infamous serial killers. Queenie Osbourne is the talk of > London. Rising to fame as a singer after the Second Worl” >

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.