The Second Marriage by Jess Ryder @bookouture #publicationday #thesecondmarriage

‘They’re lying,’ my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. ‘They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive.’

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy. She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turn up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave. And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

What does Noah remember and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

Wow! What a emotionally draining read this was! Have read books by Jess Ryder before I knew I was in for an addictive read but this has to be my most favourite of her books so far. The old saying “marry in haste, repent in leisure” couldn’t have been a more perfect warning for Lily-the second wife. After working as a tutor for Edward, home educating his young son Noah, very quickly they become involved and marry. Edward is a widower and this is his explanation for the small wedding they have, with no family or friends on his side except for Noah and his two older sisters. Now, maybe it’s just because I’m a cynical older woman now but surely this should have set those alarm bells ringing for the naive-but deeply in love- Lily. But that’s the least of her problems because it quickly becomes obvious that Noah is a very troubled young boy…

This is the sort of psychological thriller that fills my heart with a twisted joy! Deliciously mysterious with characters that you want to trust but just know you can’t, The Second Marriage is a book I found I just couldn’t put down! I had to find out what had happened to Edwards first wife and why Noah is convinced his mother is still alive. His memories paint a puzzling picture-surely a young child isn’t able to remember the things that happened to him as vividly as he does? Is it because of the trauma of losing a parent so young? And can his memory be trusted? Every time we bring a memory to the forefront of our brain, we are remembering our previous memory of it so that initial memory has faded and we remember a diluted version. But when other strange things happen and physical clues come to Lily’s attention, surely this validates Noah’s convictions?

This is a gripping psychological thriller with a thrilling storyline that builds to a shocking, tension filled finale. I thought I had everything all figured out but Jess Ryder kept me guessing right up until that final chapter. Definitely recommended!

Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer. After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime. Writing, that is. So she’s very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me. Her other big love is making pots.

https://www.facebook.com/JessRyderAuthor/
https://twitter.com/jessryderauthor

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3ml6afIApple: https://apple.co/2UHA96jKobo: https://bit.ly/3sGKJXZGoogle: https://bit.ly/3vPOhbJ

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

2 thoughts on “The Second Marriage by Jess Ryder @bookouture #publicationday #thesecondmarriage”

Comments are closed.