Broken Promises by Mel Sherratt

Family is everything. Loyalty should be…

The Limekiln Estate has witnessed many a dark crime over the years. When DI Allie Shenton is called out to a suspicious death, she isn’t surprised to see it’s a local she knows only too well.

While the slaying of Billy Whitmore is on everyone’s lips, a woman is stabbed in her home. A day later and a third victim turns up.

Three known associates brutally murdered – the bodies are piling up quicker than the forensic evidence is coming back. Yet Allie senses there’s something more disturbing going on. She’s sure Fiona Abbott, Billy’s partner, is involved too.

With enemies from her past rearing their ugly heads, and the press and public up in arms, Allie has her work cut out to get to the shocking truth. Can she and her loyal team stop the killer who has a close-knit community living in fear?

And by raking up secrets from the past, has she made the Abbott family the next target, especially fourteen-year-old Kelsey?

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull. 

Broken Promises is the fourth novel in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million selling British author, Mel Sherratt, and perfect for fans of DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

I’ve been so excited since I heard that Allie Shenton was on her way back for book 4 and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit back to the Limekiln estate in Stoke on Trent. Broken Promises promised a darkly disturbing crime thriller and it certainly delivered!

There’s a brutal murder for DI Allie Shenton to solve here when a well known local criminal is found slain. But it doesn’t stop there and soon the locals are getting worried when 2 more bodies are discovered. The close knit local community are stunned and nobody knows who to trust especially when everyone knows everyone else and families stick together to protect their own. And it’s this authentically gritty characterisation that makes Mel’s books stand out for me. Everyone living on the estate has a story to tell, a connection to disclose and secrets to uncover-just like in real life!

This was a one sitting read for me-I was gripped from the very start and couldn’t wait to finish it! Mel has a compelling writing style that really draws you into her fictional world and I loved being back in the Limekiln estate. There was lots of twists and turns here and I had no idea who was responsible for the series of murders taking place even though I knew there had to be a connection somewhere but where I couldn’t tell!

Fans of gritty crime thrillers will love this latest addition to the DI Allie Shenton series although it can also be read just as well as a stand-alone. Really enjoyed it!

My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas – fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh.

To date, I’ve sold 1.8 million books. All sixteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10 and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.

My latest psychological thriller, TEN DAYS is out now. 

THE ESTATE SERIES is a mix of psychological suspense and family life with a sprinkling of grit and a dash of menace – where drama meets crime. There are four books, available individually or the first three as a box set. 

THE LIES YOU TELL is a standalone psychological thriller, and my first novel set in London. I wanted to write about a character who was nice to everyone using one persona but out for revenge with another side to her that she tries to keep hidden away. The reader knows exactly what she is up to – but not the reason why.

WATCHING OVER YOU is another standalone psychological thriller. It’s dark in places, light in places, disturbing in places too – where obsession and friendship turn into murder.

The DETECTIVE ALLIE SHENTON TRILOGY starts with TAUNTING THE DEAD. It’s part police procedural/part psychological thriller. The next in the series is FOLLOW THE LEADER and finally, ONLY THE BRAVE.

My latest police procedural offering features DS Grace Allendale, HUSH HUSH being the first one, TICK TOCK the second, LIAR LIAR the third and the final one to finish the series, GOOD GIRL.

There are two books about DS EDEN BERRISFORD. She works in a community intelligence team and helps to gather information and intel for investigations. THE GIRLS NEXT DOOR is the first book, followed by DON’T LOOK BEHIND YOU. These books are based in the same setting as THE ESTATE SERIES.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website http://www.melsherratt.co.uk or I’m on Twitter at @writermels

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.