Life Sentence by A.K. Turner

Camden mortuary technician Cassie Raven returns to solve another ingenious forensic mystery. Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen, Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs.

Mortuary technician Cassie Raven believes the last thoughts of the dead linger like static in the air…

Cassie has always had a strange affinity with death, ever since her parents were killed in a car crash when she was four. At least that’s what she grew up believing…

But that was a lie. Cassie’s father is alive. He was convicted of murdering her mother and spent years behind bars. Now he’s out – and he’s looking for her.

He swears he didn’t do it. And Cassie wants to believe him.

To find the truth, she must turn detective. As she seeks answers, help is to be found in inexplicable places – for the dead are ready to talk.

I really am loving this series-Cassie Raven is a wonderful character creation and I love her so much! She’s such a strong personality and this book works because of her! I thoroughly enjoyed my introduction to her in Body Language so was thrilled when I was asked to take part in the blog tour for Life Sentence so huge thanks to Tracy Fenton for the invite.

If you’ve not read Body Language I guarantee you will still be able to enjoy Life Sentence as it is a stand-alone thriller but just with a recurring character, the brilliantly written Cassie Raven. Cassie works as a mortuary technician and enjoys her job as she believes that the energy of the dead has to go somewhere and that energy gives them the chance to “talk” to the living, buzzing around them giving Cassie the chance to listen to them. She’s very much her own person and has a confidence in her ability that’s not often seen as a positive by those senior to her but those who understand her close connection to the dead, trust her to bring closure to the loose ends often left by those who have died. When a young man is brought in as a suspected suicide, Cassie feels that there is more to his death and wants to bring a sense of meaning to his death for his loved ones. She also finds out more about her own family that leads to a shocking revelation about her past…

This is such a gripping story from start to finish. You wouldn’t think the subject matter would be a tasteful one to grab the reader but it does! Cassie makes the storyline for me personally-I find her a fascinating character and love her empathetic nature as she fights for the truth for loved ones left behind. Her own family history is also delved into more deeply here and she feels the connection with her dead mother more than ever which was sensitively portrayed especially once secrets were revealed after the reappearance of her father.

I am so hopeful that there will be another Cassie Raven book as this is a series I am completely invested in! A compelling example of a series that would make a gripping tv series too. Highly recommended.


Follow 

A. K. Turner

A K Turner likes to create memorable characters, throw them into unusual settings, and add a hefty dose of murder and a twisty-turny plot. Her latest book, Body Language, introduces a new kind of forensic heroine – a crime-solving Goth-girl mortuary technician who talks to the dead, a character first launched in two crime shorts aired on BBC Radio 4. A K’s previous series, written under the pen name Anya Lipska, starred a London-based Polish fixer who’s happy to crack heads to solve crimes – which saw her being selected for Val McDermid’s prestigious New Blood Panel at Harrogate Crime Festival in 2012. 

A K (aka Ali) lives in East London where she is writing more mortuary-set mysteries. Her day job is producing TV documentaries on true crime and science topics. And just for light relief she is training to be a City of London guide…

Read more about A K’s books over at http://www.anyalipska.com where you can sign up to her newsletter for news and giveaways.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.