The Box by Dan Malakin

To save your child you must open The Box…

Ed Truman’s family is falling apart. His daughter Ally is being targeted by an alt-right incel organisation, Men Together. His house is being picketed, former clients are accusing him of sexual assault, his son won’t speak to him. And then Ally disappears.

Frantic, Ed suspects that Men Together have abducted her. But before he can go to the police, his DNA is found on the body of a young woman. Suddenly he’s the subject of a nationwide manhunt, led by the tenacious DCI Jackie Rose. Ed finds himself on the run with Ally’s friend, Phoenix, who claims to know where Ally is. But what is the truth? Is Ed a violent sexual predator? Or is he the victim of a ruthless conspiracy? The answers are in The Box. But not everyone who goes in, comes out alive…

From the bestselling author of The Regret, this heart-pounding thriller is perfect for readers of Harlan Coben, Mark Billingham and M.W. Craven.

Dan Malakin has created a terrifying plot line in The Box so if you struggle with claustrophobia then be warned because there are some really disturbing scenes here! I have to say that one of my worst fears is…well, I don’t want to spoil the storyline but let’s just say that I had a few sleepless nights after encountering “the box”!

From the start you get the feeling that the plot of The Box is very topical and quite controversial and you’d be right! When Ed Truman’s daughter is targeted by an Incel group due to her protests against them, it affects the whole Truman family. Ed finds himself accused of sexually assaulting clients which leads to tension with his wife and son. He is verbally attacked outside his home but insists that he has done the right thing in taking an injunction out against Men Together. But when Allie doesn’t come home one night and sends a text message that Ed doesn’t believe she has written, it leads to more than just tension between the Trumans…

The Box is one of the best books I’ve read this year so far-it’s absolutely fantastic! From the very first page, I was deeply involved in what was happening to Ed. When he finds himself on the run for murder, I was pretty sure he was being set up but there was still a small part of me that wondered WHY!? Was this all because of his encounters with this “mens group” or was there something else bubbling beneath the surface? I was concerned about Allie, his daughter, who was obviously involved in something much deeper than she had expected especially as at the centre of everything lies “the box”. When Ed encounters Phoenix, things take a very different turn and their escape from the police and others chasing them was a compelling shot of adrenaline into an already gripping read. I loved the characters but one who stood out for me was DCI Jackie Rose-I loved her determination and bravery even though she was also fighting her own demons…

The Box is a gripping thriller that will appeal to fans of Simon Kernick. The plot is fast paced and topical plus it’s scarily believable with some really impressive twists! Dan Malakin managed to reel me in, making me care about his characters and their fates whilst also delivering one of the creepiest antagonists I’ve ever encountered! And that’s why The Box is one of my top recommended reads for June!

The Box will be published on 16th June 2022 by Viper.

Dan Malakin has twice been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize, and his debut novel, The Regret, was a Kindle bestseller. When not writing thrillers, Dan works as a data security consultant, teaching corporations how to protect themselves from hackers. He lives in North London with his wife and daughter.

His new novel, an action thriller called The Box, will be released by Viper Books in June 2022.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.

One thought on “The Box by Dan Malakin”

Comments are closed.