The Lodger by Valerie Keogh

She’s in your home…

Leigh Simons can’t say for sure what made her do it. A moment of madness, perhaps, but when the young, loud and gorgeous waitress at her favorite coffee shop reveals she is homeless, Leigh offers her the empty room in her house.

In your head…

Gina is the perfect lodger; Leigh, lonely and frustrated with her life, becomes infatuated with the woman – her boldness, her zeal. If only Leigh could be more like Gina…

And missing without trace.

So when Leigh returns from a work trip she’s shocked to find Gina missing. Where could the young woman have gone…and why?

Leigh fears that something terrible has happened – why else would Gina leave her?

But as she sets out to find her missing lodger, what Leigh discovers changes everything she knows about Gina….and her own life, too.

Don’t miss the brand new thriller by Valerie Keogh! Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and K.L. Slater.

Well this was an unexpectedly twisty psychological thriller! My first experience of reading a Valerie Keogh book but definitely not my last as I thoroughly enjoyed the gripping and shocking storyline from start to finish. When Leigh makes a split second decision to offer her spare room to a girl who works in her favourite coffee shop, she has no idea that the young woman will suddenly disappear leaving Leigh with many unanswered questions. But she may end up wishing she doesn’t go looking for her…

I liked Leigh from the moment I met her. Kind and generous, she offers her spare room to someone she hardly knows because Gina is homeless plus Leigh also quite fancy’s some company in the house she lives alone in. The male characters weren’t as likeable and I was intrigued as to their intentions! Did any of them have anything to do with Gina’s disappearance? I really couldn’t work out what had happened and I really love it when an author keeps me guessing! In fact, the conclusion when it came was both jaw dropping and shocking and much darker than I had expected but it was the perfect ending to this astonishing tale!

There may be a few triggers here for the more sensitive reader but without giving away the ending I can’t really go into what the triggers are. Just be aware that the narrative delivers some graphic and disturbing scenes as the threads of this addictive storyline come together.

I really enjoyed The Lodger. I couldn’t put it down until I knew what had happened and why and it didn’t disappoint! Looking forward to reading more from Valerie Keogh in the future!

The Little Lies was shortlisted for the Crime Fiction Lovers Award 2021

Valerie Keogh lives in Wiltshire with her husband and a huge black cat, Fatty Arbuckle. She grew up reading Agatha Christie and initially wrote crime novels – she now writes psychological thrillers. 

Valerie has a BA in English and an MA in American Literature.

She has recently signed a contract for four new psychological thrillers with Boldwood Books, the first of which, The Lodger, is published August 1st.

Published by

jorobertson2015

I am a Norfolk girl living in leafy Cheshire with my grumpy Scotsman. A mum and nana who lives for my family but who is also addicted to reading (and Marmite!) I will read almost anything but my preferred genres to review are psychological thrillers, crime procedural novels or women's fiction. My kindle is my life but I also have a substantial bookshelf in my cosy reading room where I can go to escape the stresses of family life with plenty of tea and chocolate. I am a member of netgalley and bookbridg. I review on Amazon, where I'm a Top 500 reviewer, and Goodreads. You can always find me over on Twitter @jocatrobertson for any review requests.