The Lies Within by Jane Isaac #BlogTour @Legend_Press

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for one of my favourite authors, Jane Isaac. The Lies Within is the latest instalment in her DI Will Jackman series.

About this book…


Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner… This woman is guilty of murder.

Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss.

DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.

When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before she is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?

My review…

Wow! I love this series featuring Will Jackman and The Lies Within has got to be my favourite so far! Part police procedural, part psychological thriller and part courtroom drama, I was glued to this book from the moment I picked it up! Grace was such a carefully crafted character that I found myself questioning every move she made, asking myself if the woman in the prologue is the same grief stricken mother we meet after her daughter Jo is discovered murdered.

I found the chapters following the family after Jo’s murder to be incredibly difficult to read. Jane Isaac totally conveyed the feelings of grief and helplessness felt by them as they tried to come to terms with what had happened to their family. Their everyday lives became a chore as if they were trying to walk through quicksand. So when an old friend turns up, Grace is gradually brought back to life and Faye becomes an integral part of her emotional recovery. But what on earth has happened for Grace to end up in court on a murder charge? The author built up the tension between the characters carefully until it became impossible to put this book down. I was fascinated by Grace, could the loss of her daughter have turned her into a murderer? Thankfully, Will Jackman thinks not and the race is on to prove Grace is innocent.

Once again Will Jackmans personal life proves as complex and intriguing as the case he is in charge of solving. He really is in a “no man’s land” when it comes to his love life and my heart went out to him as I watched him struggle to do the right thing. I just want that man to be happy!!!! He’s too lovely to be on his own!!!

I loved every minute of this book, it had me utterly engrossed in the storyline from the very first page with characters that I came to care about and a moral dilemma that gave me cause for thought. This is a perfectly plotted and intricately woven tale that you will leave you breathless with amazement as you finish the final few chapters. Highly recommended by me!

Many thanks to Lucy Chamberlain at Legend Press for my advanced review copy of The Lies Within: Shocking. Page-Turning. Crime Thriller with DI Will Jackman (The DI Will Jackman series) which is available to purchase now.

Meet the author ..

Jane Isaac

Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire, UK. Her debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.’

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by and winner of ‘Noveltunity book club selection – May 2014’.

In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford upon Avon, with Before It’s Too Late. The second in the series, Beneath The Ashes, will be published by Legend Press on 1st November 2016 with the 3rd, The Lies Within, to follow on 2nd May 2017.